We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #136 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Arnold California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

When looking for a last minute Hotel for Valentine's Day weekend found the Beresford Hotel.
It was rated two stars, but very reasonable. I did not expect much, but what a surprise! Cute, clean, friendly hotel, with in walking range to almost everything. Continental breakfast is served in the morning.This is what real San Francisco looks like! I loved this hotel and I am sure you will too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firemanwife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    420
    403
    139
    57
See reviews for
171
512
69
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The only great thing about the hotel is its location. The hotel is quite run down and could do with a revamp, the breakfast isnt worth even getting up for- very dissapointing! and the cost to park your car with them is a rip off. We got put into a room at the far end of the building which had a big fan/compressor making the most horrendous noise right outside the window, after being told by somebody on reception that it will be turned off by the time we go to bed, this did not happen and it was still going at 2am in the morning! we then complained and got to move rooms. The staff are also not very helpful and all tend to say different things.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LN2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

St. Malo, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed at The Beresford a number of times because I am regularly attending a workshop in S.F. and am given only that option. It is a good place, clean, but with no frills. Last I stayed on the sixth floor, but the elevator worked well, so no problem. The bed was very good, heating worked, bathroom was nice, so everything really ok. It all looks a little old, but it is clean and just fine. For some of us the noise level from outside was a little high, but I slept very well. Free wifi downstairs in the lobby and in a little room next to it. Free breakfast (o.j., coffee, cereal, muffins, grapes), and in the evening free hotdogs and popcorn. The hotel is conveniently located up the hill from BART. Receptionists friendly and helpful. There was no problem putting our luggage into storage the last day (no charge). One of my colleagues had come with a car, and they parked it for her ($27./day).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The only favorable comment about this hotel is its location. it is ideal as it is downtown. The hotel looks tired. It requires some uplifting renovation. The breakfast was bad. No bread toasting facility. But the worst experience we had with this place was the poor attitude of its front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The hotel is in the midst of town, 2 blocks from the rail cars, one block from the bus lines. The rooms are small, but we toured the city most of the day. Our shower water flow was low, but we managed, no flat screen TV, but everything worked. Hair dryers are available, breakfast is ok and there are nice restaurants close by. We bought a 7 day bus card so we managed to get around by rail car and bus, it was a great experience, we managed to see most of the sights with no problem. Out of most reasonable hotels in the area, I would say this is a 3 star rating.
We chose this hotel because it was a bit further from the Tenderloin area, this seemed a safer hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $236 - $318
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing