We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Beresford
Nearby Hotels
USD 233*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
USD 245*
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
USD 298*
USD 220*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 227*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 265*
USD 219*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 286*
USD 254*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 285*
USD 254*
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 482*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 296*
USD 247*
InterContinental
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 454*
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,240)
Filter reviews
1,240 results
Traveller rating
109
458
446
160
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
458
446
160
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaregreat locationsutter strooms are smallbudget hotelolder hotelcontinental breakfast iscable carvalet parkingtwo blockspublic transportfisherman's wharfmarket streetferry buildingcerealsfcars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
633 - 638 of 1,240 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The only great thing about the hotel is its location. The hotel is quite run down and could do with a revamp, the breakfast isnt worth even getting up for- very dissapointing! and the cost to park your car with them is a rip off. We got put into a room at the far end of the building which had a big fan/compressor making the most horrendous noise right outside the window, after being told by somebody on reception that it will be turned off by the time we go to bed, this did not happen and it was still going at 2am in the morning! we then complained and got to move rooms. The staff are also not very helpful and all tend to say different things.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LN2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed at The Beresford a number of times because I am regularly attending a workshop in S.F. and am given only that option. It is a good place, clean, but with no frills. Last I stayed on the sixth floor, but the elevator worked well, so no problem. The bed was very good, heating worked, bathroom was nice, so everything really ok. It all looks a little old, but it is clean and just fine. For some of us the noise level from outside was a little high, but I slept very well. Free wifi downstairs in the lobby and in a little room next to it. Free breakfast (o.j., coffee, cereal, muffins, grapes), and in the evening free hotdogs and popcorn. The hotel is conveniently located up the hill from BART. Receptionists friendly and helpful. There was no problem putting our luggage into storage the last day (no charge). One of my colleagues had come with a car, and they parked it for her ($27./day).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The only favorable comment about this hotel is its location. it is ideal as it is downtown. The hotel looks tired. It requires some uplifting renovation. The breakfast was bad. No bread toasting facility. But the worst experience we had with this place was the poor attitude of its front desk staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The hotel is in the midst of town, 2 blocks from the rail cars, one block from the bus lines. The rooms are small, but we toured the city most of the day. Our shower water flow was low, but we managed, no flat screen TV, but everything worked. Hair dryers are available, breakfast is ok and there are nice restaurants close by. We bought a 7 day bus card so we managed to get around by rail car and bus, it was a great experience, we managed to see most of the sights with no problem. Out of most reasonable hotels in the area, I would say this is a 3 star rating.
We chose this hotel because it was a bit further from the Tenderloin area, this seemed a safer hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The rooms are clean but small and no wifi in them despite it being advertised. Valet parking is a massive rip off ($27/night) and u have to wait minimum 20 mins for your car, we waited nearly an hour for ours to be delivered which means u might b late if you have plans, or you are wasting your previous time. The hotel staff (front desk/bell boy) are not friendly, they are rude and will not help. I did not think this would be an issue however it has been and has made our stay very unpleasant. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChellyHeartsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews