We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #94 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The service at the front desk (Maria) was awesome! We were welcomed with smiles galore and all staff were fantastic. We were upgraded for some reason and the room was great. It was a suite. The large plasma tv was on a huge hinge that could face towards the bed or towards the couch. The bathroom was very elegant and smart looking although it would have been good to have more bench space for toiletries. The hallways looked very romantic with their red hues and lights. One thing I didn't like was the lift. Although it worked, it was too slow for me so I just got used to six flights of stairs and used this as daily exercise! Breakfast was basic but was sufficient. Also, the noise of the garbage trucks in the morning is unbelievable. But on the sixth floor towards the back, there is no other street noise that bothered me. Position near Union Square is great. I would return here again as it was also great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewTraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
There are newer reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 658 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in downtown San Francisco while vacationing with friends.

Liked:
- location
- on site bar served great drinks

Disliked:
- DO not stay on the third floor ( specifically room 305 & 315 ). The bar and restaurant are situated on the 2nd floor, there is NO sound proofing and we were kept up till the wee hours of the morning by loud music, noisy patrons & then setting up for breakfast. After complaining twice to reception they did turn the music down a bit. The next morning we went down to complain and were upgraded to a bigger room on the 5th floor which was much quieter.
- Breakfast is average (toast, yoghurt & cereals).
- Some of the hotel staff seemed to have a bit of an attitude, even mentioned to a friend that there were no MCDonalds in San Fran when he asked! Really?

Overall Opinion:
To get the room we were upgraded too, I don't think the associated price tag is worth it. You could probably get a better hotel. The hotel is trying to look like a boutique hotel but it's not got the feel of the boutique hotel. I would try elsewhere when returning to San Fran.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank SAFFAinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This beautiful place was the only building in the area that was not damaged in the 1906 earthquake - you can see a picture in the back of the restaurant. It was just taken over by Charlie Palmer ( and renamed the "Mystic"), so we would have loved to try out the restaurant, but unfortunately it was not opening for the first time until the day after we left. The bar, however was gorgeous and served craft cocktails to a very eclectic local crowd. Our two Rooms were not only beautiful , with plush bedding but the outside wall was the original brick. The staff was extremely friendly an,d we had a good time chatting with every one of them

Room Tip: They have a few king rooms if you ask
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

we arrived early in the morning after we had to get up at 3:30 am for our flight and were more then delighted that they gave us a room already at 10:00 am! try to get a room as high up as possible - the view is nicer and there is no "noise" from the bar on the second floor!

Room Tip: as high up as possible!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank baluethebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night after coming off a delayed flight from Vegas. We had a flight back to the UK the next morning too so all we wanted was a good night's sleep. Unfortunately we didn't get it!

When we arrived at around midnight, we were told that due to building work there would be no water the next afternoon. Nobody mentioned noise and the lady who was on the desk gave us the keys to room 315. The room was very small and bereft of natural light but it was clean and comfortable enough.

At 6am we were woken by loud banging and shouting. When I looked out of the thin, single pane interior window I saw we were right next to the staircase where the building work was actually taking place. Somehow we tolerated this till 8am when I went down to complain.

The man who had taken over on the desk was helpful and said that they don't usually put people in 315. He gave me the keys to a much nicer and quieter room across the hall and gave us a later check out. Unfortunately his efforts were undone by the negligence of his colleague.

My girlfriend emailed them when we got home but they ignored it. For that reason, this is the first (and last) negative review. The location is ok, the hotel is ok - but make sure you get a decent room.

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 315 or in fact any room with an interior window
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonny_c99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 229 in San Francisco
1,181 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,038 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
1,837 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#153 of 229 in San Francisco
49 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $260 - $1,324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and the menu features Bay Area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing