We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel in Heart of tourist Frisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #165 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 May 2017

A nondescript hotel but at 150-180 USD a night it is a good budget deal right in heart of tourist district. Area. 5 minutes walk from Metro many restaurants and the Famous San Francisco Cable Car. Small rooms with large bathrooms. Nothing to write about, Below par breakfast, but clean linen. Good to sleep only. No lobby/restaurant or anything.

Room Tip: nothing much to choose. Range is not there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aruneela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Pros:
1) Close to Union Square.
2) Clean and tidy room/bathroom.
3) Friendly and helpful staffs.
4) Value of room rent is good compared to the other hotels in Union Square.

Cons:
1) The breakfast is way below standard. If they served a decent breakfast, I would have rated them as five star.
2) The elevator is shaky and can be scary some time.

Over-all:
They offer a small room with a nice bed and working bathroom. They should improve the interior of bathrooms and hall-way. I would recommend this hotel for short trip or low budget holiday (due to lack of space and basic offerings of the hotel).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nizam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank kaiwais
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank jerrief2017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I chose this hotel due to the website stating that it offered airport pickup and drop off but beware, as of April 2017, they only offer drop off to the airport. When I called to arrange to get picked up, they stated they only drop off and didn't apologize for having false information on their website (which is still listed as of May 15, 2017). After several phone calls with Super 8 headquarters, I was able to get some compensation for the hassle and transportation.

Regarding the hotel, the building is very old. I was afraid of getting stuck in the old elevator and often took the stairs. Our room was small and fairly clean. They don't have extra cots or even extra toiletries (like most hotels will offer for no cost). The breakfast was minimal (cereal, bread, coffee, oatmeal, danishes, and yogurt). The location was in walking distance of everything we wanted to see but didn't feel like a safe area. Homeless people were always outside of our building. If I ever go back to San Francisco, I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fedew1kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Layne Hotel
#202 of 231 in San Francisco
262 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
688 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#171 of 231 in San Francisco
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#140 of 231 in San Francisco
410 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 231 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#191 of 231 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $171 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing