We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great area - clean and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #156 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Washington DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great area - clean and affordable.”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is not a fancy hotel by any standard, but it was clean and comfortable. The location was in the Union Square area (be with someone after dark), but it is centrally located and a reasonable price for the area. The only thing we could find comparable was near the airport which is a 45 minute train ride to all the San Francisco sites. They also had a complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Some floors were smoking and some were non-smoking. You want to make sure you get a non-smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for booking with us! We do not have any smoking floors or rooms. Our whole hotel is non-smoking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    152
    204
    72
    50
See reviews for
88
173
51
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I ended up here after my hostel was booked solid, and I couldn't get a room. I walked in, and judging by other reviews on here, I got gouged big time. But whatever, it was way better than the hostel. This was just an average Super 8, nothing outstanding. The only thing which I want to comment on is the breakfast. I really liked the selection and variety they had. It was actually the best breakfast of my whole vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annejohnson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are really glad that you liked the breakfast! We try to provide the best for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Close to shops, Union square and all transport , but the area is not so good after dark. Place is tired and poorly maintained which detracts from pretty good basics. However sheets were clean and bathroom good. Breakfast OK , bagels, cereal, juice and pastries.
The price justifies the stay. Some rooms appear to be better than others. Maybe some have been refurbished

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deebee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.
Our hotel is built small from the beginning and we cannot make it bigger because we do not have any more space. Most of the hotels like ours are very old, no one has enough room. We apologize for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here for a night and my boyfriend came home with 22 red splotchy bites on his arms and torso. I didn't have any but maybe I wasn't showing signs. After researching on the internet back home, we suspect bedbugs due to the tell-tale bite pattern as well as the size and color of the bites. I had to wash all of my things, clean my house, vacuum the floor, treat the carpets and treat the luggage, hopefully we did not bring home any. If I did bring them home then I will have to pay a lot of money to rid my house of them. The room we were in was 401 so avoid that room.

Room Tip: Not 401, bedbugs in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Your boyfriend might have gotten those spots from somewhere else because we make sure our beds do not have any bed bugs. Our maids make sure of it. If there were bed bugs in our beds, you would have gotten those bites as well. We keep everything 100% clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

In a good location for shopping.
Hotel is basic .theres a free continental breakfast ,you can make toast or bagels and there's cereal and fruit and cakes.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee0072000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast:)
see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#132 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#149 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Property: Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $197 - $479
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing