We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
107
40
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
40
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar aesop products hotel guests kelly wearstler priority access premier king tenderloin district bluetooth speaker bunk room ve stayed here busy market street great hotel the room service menu boutique hotel front desk jet lagged cool vibe
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Such an amazing experience. The staff went over and beyond and the food was absolutely delicious. The hotel was clean and the rooms were cute. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the perfect hotel for our girlfriends getaway.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Annalisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Annalisa K.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review about the hotel. I was so very pleased to see our colleagues take such great care of you during your stay. It is also fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the amazing food. We truly appreciate the "highly recommend" and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Aaron Alexandar
Director of Rooms
aaron.alexandar@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

My son and I stayed here for a night of fun and food in San Francisco. It is centrally located, the rooms are gorgeous, the staff extremely nice and helpful. I will definitely be returning to this spot.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nansi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Nansi M.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review about the hotel. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location, room and very pleased to see that our colleagues took such great care of you and your son during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aaron Alexandar
Director of Rooms
aaron.alexandar@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

The vibe here was wonderful from the moment I checked in - definitely a hotspot, but totally lacking pretension. Everything felt artfully restored from another time - the bathroom especially was beautiful. A bit small, but never felt cramped. Cozy's the more relevant keyword. It's centrally located; a convenient midpoint if your travels take you all over town - but the area itself is definitely a little rough to wander around. But that didn't keep the rooftop lounge or the lobby from being packed with interesting people every night.

The big strength of the hotel is its staff, which was flawless from check-in to check-out. Friendly, fast, and very human. Definitely planning on coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Royce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Royce J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your review exemplifies exactly how we want our guests to feel when staying with us with not only through our design and attention to detail but also matching our level of service to all areas. I was ecstatic that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities such as Charmaine's and we agree that we are definitely a "hot spot" in San Francisco. I will be sure to share your great review with everyone here at the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the San Francisco Proper soon!


Aaron Alexandar
Director of Rooms
aaron.alexandar@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I felt very much at home at The Proper thanks to the accommodating staff.

There is a nice lounge area/public space to meet up with friends and family. You can order a glass of wine or a Shirley Temple for the minors. Everyone was mad to feel welcome.

The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Nice linens. 4 a.m. coffee service. It’s like coming downstairs early at your relative’s home in your first of the morning flip flops and ball cap to get a cup of coffee for your room ~ a little awkward but nobody cares and they are happy to see you and offer help.

Definitely will stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LightPacker704804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our lounge area at Villon is great for mingling and happy to hear you enjoyed the beverages. We pride ourselves in our beautifully appointed guest rooms along with all in-room amenities like our linen, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort of your room. Our morning coffee service is a delight for our early guests and great way to start off the day.

We look forward to having you stay with us when your travels bring you back to San Francisco. Thank you again for sharing.


Aaron Alexandar
Director of Rooms
aaron.alexandar@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Rooms were trendy. Up to date with interesting furniture. The walls had different wall coverings, but it worked. There was a walk-in closet with a safe and a nice assortment of things to eat or drink. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom nice and the shower was good. Shower essentials were good, too. The television was adequate. Elevators worked well, and the service getting our automobile was very good. There was a pharmacy nearby and plenty of places to eat within a mile in any direction. We enjoyed our stay very much, and I recommend it highly.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Bill M.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our amenities in our rooms as well as the decor and comfort. We will be sure to share the positive comments with our Valet team and Albert, our server in Villon.

We look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you back to the San Francisco area.


Aaron Alexandar
Director of Rooms
aaron.alexandar@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews