We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #59 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Enjoyed the location, price and very good service from everyone

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Hi Ken G - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel.We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,619
    438
    119
    50
See reviews for
1,110
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great quite location near short walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, with a grocery store and drug store nearby. Had a nice little restaurant attached. Small room, but cozy and nicely decorated. We used their valet parking, expensive but normal for San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreDre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi DreDre07 - Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here on a road trip with my mother-in-law. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. It was a little tricky seeing the sign for the entrance, but the valet was very nice and helpful. It is Valet parking only. I didn't have any trouble getting car when I wanted it, with only 10 min heads up. The location is ideal. Walking distance to the wharf (2 blocks), Pier 39, and Alcatraz pier 33.(about 10 blocks) Even catching a Cable car is just around the corner. Rooms were very nice and had lovely garden outside window.
They have free wine every night which was a great surprise. The restaurant attached is quite nice too after a long day of walking it was a great option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemberly198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi Pemberly198 - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm glad to hear that you had a great visit. Thanks for mentioning how helpful and friendly our FD was during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Having only spent a few days in SF during our vacation last year, we resolved to spend a full week in May. The Tuscan Inn was an excellent base for our exploration of the city. Superbly located for the buses and street cars, it was a breeze to get around without a car. Or those days you dont feel like going far afield there's enough, within a 5-10 minute walk, to entertain all types. The room and amenities (free wifi) were exactly what we'd hoped for. The restaurant on the ground floor made a great place to have a scrumptous dinner on our first night in town. The Safeway next door was a great place to refill on supplies/snacks. The staff was second to none in their friendliness and helpfulness. The only thing we wish we'd done differently was not get a room on the corner facing the street. If you plan on sleeping in, you want a courtyard room instead. There's a fair bit of street noise coming from the intersection. But, honestly, we enjoyed our stay so much we never got around to asking for a room change, plus we like lots of natural light, and the corner room provided that. On our next visit to SF, we'll stay at the Tuscan Inn again, and recommend it to all friends and family.

Room Tip: If you like natural light, get an outer room; however, you have to put up with some increased street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Lisa_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi Jamie_Lisa_Ottawa - Thanks for spending a week with us and for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. I appreciate the 5 Star review and our team is always thrilled when me meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to see you again soon and it's most appreciated that you recommend the Tuscan to your friends and family. That's the highest compliment we could hope for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Very attractive and clean accommodation. The location is terrific, the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the daily wine hour is definitely appealing. We met a lot of interesting people from all over the world at the wine events. There is a Safeway store right across the street which is extremely useful for light snacks and beverages. The only thing we found to be somewhat inconvenient was the layout of the suite. There were three of us, one sleeping on the pull-out couch in the livingroom area but the bathroom was located in the bedroom area so there's no access to the third party except through the bedroom. The set up would be perfect for a couple, though, and the rates are very reasonable for the location. The pull-out couch was not very comfortable but the suite was really very nice. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi Brian L - Thank you for staying with us and for all your kind words. We're so pleased that you will come back to visit and that you would recommend your friends and family to stay here too. We look forward to your next visit, thanks again for giving us the highest rating in Service, Location, Cleanliness and Value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $333 - $588
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing