We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel and experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #46 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed 2 nites after our cruise. We found this hotel very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and customer-focused.They were very helpful in making shuttle arrangements for the airport. The concierge gave us great tips on how to best get to see the Golden Gate Bridge using public transportation. Location was excellent! All within walking distance- Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, Pier 35 (cruise ship) and Pier 33 (Alcatraz tours), Lombard St, Cable car. We also enjoyed their nice complimentary wine "happy hour". We will definitely stay at this hotel should we return to San Fran!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glassboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Hi Glassboro,

Thanks for the great scores and wonderful comments. We hope you have the opportunity to return to SF and stay with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back! By the way, your profile photo reminds me of Hanakapiai Falls on Kauai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    1,610
    426
    106
    41
See reviews for
1,097
1,796
91
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My coworker and I stayed here the second week of March. We arrived early around 11:30 am, it was a bit too early to check-in so thus bellman assisted us with storing our luggage. The front desk was friendly and recommended several places for lunch. We were thrilled with the variety of restaurants, shopping and attractions within walking distance.

When I arrived to my room I was pleasantly surprised by the mini-bar and fridge. Although my room was small, it was ver cozy and quiet. It seemed recently updated with new carpet, triple sheeted bedding and newer furnishings. My room had a queen size bed, which was ok because it was just me. The main downside to this room was the view (the windows face guest room windows).

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi TravelingFamilyGal,

Thank you for your kind words and your great review of the hotel. I'm so glad you had a great experience. It was our privilege to serve you and I'm pleased to hear that you'll be returning. I look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My family and I stayed one night on a layover and had a great experience. The staff were friendly and helpful -- they even made arrangements to get us back to the airport in the morning. The location was fantastic -- only two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and a block from the Cable Car. We were able to pack in a meal at the wharf, a boat ride to the Golden Gate Bridge, a ride on a cable car and a visit to China Town topped off with Dim Sum before walking back (downhill all the way - yay) to the hotel. Even squeezed in a 4.0 earthquake in the morning. The room was clean, quiet and reasonably priced. What else could one ask for? If I had to make a tiny complaint -- they could improve the signage in the halls as there was some construction going on in the lobby that made some exits unpassable and made it a bit of a challenge to find our way out the first time. Otherwise, great hotel!

Room Tip: Our room had an interior view of a small courtyard and likely contributed to the quietness of our st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softball_Mom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi Softball Mom,

Whew, I had to take a nap after reading how much you packed into your one night stay. And to top it off, you survived an earthquake. That was a most excellent visit. Thanks for the outstanding review and comments, we're glad you made some lasting memories and we look forward to your next trip to San Francisco. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 1 night before a business trip in San Jose.
Reception and welcome very good. Free WI-FI (code given on check in) Room was clean (if a tiny bit dated) Flat screen TV and 2 very comfortable (smallish) double beds in room. Bathroom had everything you needed.

Location of this hotel is fantastic. You are far enough away from the front not to be bothered by too much noise, yet only a 5 minute walk to Pier 39 - perfect!!!

I would definatley reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi Fury,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments with our readers. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and that our staff served you well! We look forward to seeing you again soon.....This is a fantastic location, I'm happy that your short stay was a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Burke
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night for a visit to San Francisco. The location was perfect as we wanted to be near the Fishermans Wharf area and also close to other attractions like the cable cars. We got there early, but they valet parked our car promptly and checked our luggage. When our room was ready we got a phone call from the very very welcoming, helpful and friendly front desk folks. Our room was clean and the mirrored wall made it appear a bit more spacious than it was. When we checked out our car was there before we knew it and everything was speedy and efficient. We were especially impressed by the staff and their obvious desire to please.

Room Tip: Our room was on the North Point Street side, we expected night noise since it was St. Patrick's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi kjd1978,

What a wonderful review! Thanks for staying with us and for your kind words about how great our staff is. We are lucky to have a group of amazing and talented men and women who have a passion for serving our guests. Hopefully you'll be able to return when our renovation is complete. I'll look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $303 - $574
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing