We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent selection of beers at Beer 39 on Pier 39”
Review of Beer 39

Beer 39
Ranked #988 of 6,311 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bar
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Whilst walking around Pier 39 in San Francisco, came across the Beer 39 bar.
Food is also available, but being mid afternoon, partner and l were only wanting a drink.
Must have taken management some time in deciding to call their premises Bar 39 on Pier 39...lol
Original.
Partner chose the house chardonnay $8.
Stated awful, but it was the house wine.
l ordered the 22oz Hop Stoopid beer $9.75.
Nice drop.
Good place for a large choice of beers on tap, cannot comment on the food as we did not order any.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 12iguasu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

We settled in at Beer 39 for an 'evening' meal on 4th of July, and sampled several of the Californian beers at the same time. I say sampled; we had imperial pints rather than the 'tasting flight'. There's a fabulous selection. There's even, if you're so inclined, Coors Light, although why you'd come to a beer tasting room and then drink Coors Light is somewhat beyond me...
Food choice is somewhat limited if you are vegetarian, but there was a tasty pesto pizza with artichokes and mushrooms on it which went down very well. The bar doesn't have its own toilets, but there are some nearby.
The service was excellent.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Nice place for tasting local beers when you have walked on the waterfront for a wine and you just want to have something fresh and tasty

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Benedicte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We went here just for the beer, didn't try the food. We each had a set of beers as a taster. These were good and came with a little blurb about each beer. Friendly and helpful staff, good location away from the bustle of the pier.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank SandK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

...not the beer. This was probably a mistake. The food was above average and the service was slow. Four members of our party received their orders, and one took about 10-15 minutes longer. Drink refills were slow.

I do have to recommend the sausage Po'Boy--delicious!

It's pricey, but probably on par with other locations on Pier 39. We wouldn't return.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beer 39 also viewed

 

Been to Beer 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing