We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite hotels to stay in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels to stay in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I love InterContinental SF. Their rooms are very nice and staff is very helpful. I come here to go to the spa. They have a beautiful spa. I leave feeling stress free and recharged.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachaelreustle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    963
    287
    95
    66
See reviews for
492
877
191
946
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

A 3-night stay that was completely forgettable. I'm finding that the InterContinental chain is very uneven across properties and locations. Or, maybe service is challenging in all of them? This is a fairly new hotel and I was surprised by its lack of appealing architectural and interior design. The lobby is awful. A large, open space with very high ceilings such that the noise from the bar and restaurant were deafening. I could barely hear the front desk attendant during check-in at 10:30 PM. While the hotel is modern, it's sterile without any warmth with too many slick surfaces to absorb the noise. My initial junior suite (corner unit, windows on two sides) was awful. The layout is dysfunctional and I dislike large, open suites with no wall barriers within the space. I moved to a standard king the next day (which took FOREVER to accomplish; corner room, windows on two sides) and it was a much better room. Smaller, but there was a clear demarcation between the bed, the room door, and the bathroom. The room was clean and modern with updated amenities. However, where are you supposed to put the coffee maker? The nearest outlet with a flat surface was the night stand! Nothing special about the bathroom - standard issue (e.g., Hilton or Marriott). The front desk attendants were mostly unhelpful - they couldn't make a decision until they talked to a manager and they had to consult a manager on 3 different occasions. Housekeeping was very annoying. My electronic door notice clearly indicated "do not disturb," but I received a note at my door and then, later in the day, a phone call. What part of "do not disturb" did she not understand?!! There's nothing one can do about the overpriced Internet. Until there's a consumer revolt, nothing will be done. The price of parking is always high in places like San Francisco and NYC. It's one of those things you have to accept. Otherwise, don't park your car. I'm less concerned about the price of parking as I am about the price of a room where service is seriously challenging (as it was here) or if the room is unclean or nothing works in the room. I tried breakfast on 2 days. The first day breakfast was great. The eggs were cooked to perfection and the french toast was excellent. The next time, it wasn't so good: the french toast was burned. Overall, the hotel isn't anything special. Much ado about nothing. I just found the people who work there less than helpful; a standard, modern room that can be found anywhere; and a general lack of sufficient amenities at this price point. Unlikely I'll return. There are other options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Apollo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Apollo P,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our standard king bed room as well as the breakfast.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the poor service our hotel staff provided and the design of our hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The staff was very friendly and efficient and the hotel was quite comfortable. We upgraded to the corner suite and it was well worth the cost. Beautiful views and so comfortable and spacious. We were on the 30th floor and it was very quiet for being in the middle of all the bustle.

There was a lot to see and do within a few blocks of the hotel and enjoyed exploring a new area (for us) in SoMa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwsuburban_cpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here due a conference next door at the convention center west. Nice clean room fairly large but there were quite a few things that for $200+ shoudl be better. Parking (valet only) is $53 a night. The car was only $45 a day to rent, so I returned it and took the BART. Next, Internet was $15 per day, way too much. Hotel is in a dark and deserted area a few blocks from Market. A very scary walk at night with many, many homeless panhadlers. I would not leta lady walk alone in this area. There is a high end mall around the corner, but again you have lots of homeless. They have Keurg coffee maked in teh room, however house keeping only relapced the coffee once during my 6 day stay. No coffee or water avail in lobby at all. Also, there are no vending maching for soda in teh hotel, you can have a soda out of the mini bar, but its $4 plus service charges. Total rip off! There's a lot to like here but you have to pay a prety penny for it. They nickle and dime you to death here. I've always wondered why a Hampton Inn for alot lless per night can give you so much and a hotel like this needs to tack on hundres of dollars per stay? Would i stay here again? Not on my dime!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELINMANFROMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We travelled from Tampa for our first family trip to CA. Stayed here for two nights. From the bellhop to the concierge to the doorman,everyone here went out of their way to ensure that we had a pleasant and comfortable experience. The beds were sooo comfy! The shower and bath in our suite and the aromatherapy products were awesome! They made getting ready a spa like experience. The club suite was like a home away from home. Our family enjoyed the breakfast, drinks and snacks there each day of our stay. They had free Internet access there, which helped us plan the rest of our trip. I must say that Juan Carlos stood out as the best rooms manager we've ever encountered. He is doing a spectacular job with this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $283 - $736
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, IHG, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing