We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel Vital”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel Vital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a fantastic hotel....great on all points - location, decor, facilities...my kinda hotel,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    414
    124
    50
    41
See reviews for
203
632
95
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Everything is perfect except for the weak gym. The exercise room is way way below average. However the great location allows for exercise along the water quite easily. Outdoor workouts are best anyway so I take nothing away from vitale for this lapse. Doorless showers are nice. Beds and pillows perfect. Very nice after work drinking crowd in the bar. If rooms are available I will continue to stay when in town.

Room Tip: Water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPonacrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear TRIPonacrack:

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Vitale and found the room accommodations most comfortable. Our location along the water does provide an exceptional place to exercise, however I am disappointed to hear that you found our gym below your satisfaction. We have recently started to renew our gym equipment, as well as its décor, to improve the atmosphere and experience for our guests. We also offer complimentary access to the state-of-the-art YMCA only a ½ block from us, as well as a discount to the world renown Bay Club. Our concierge can assist with arrangements on your future visits.

We appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale, and the revitalized gym.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

New, modern hotel on the Embarcadero, in front of the Ferry building. I got a corner room, beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was huge, with an awesome bathtub (that was like a swimming pool) and a separated shower. Every afternoon they leave you chocolates, the weather forecast for tomorrow and a piece of paper with nice quotes! Great detail. Also, if you agree, they leave you the San Francisco Chronicle every morning, hanging from your door nob in a nice little bag.
The staff was amazing, especially Monique, the concierge, very helpful.
Breakfast was delicious (only menu, no buffet) and even though I didn't have dinner or drinks at the restaurant, it was always full of people and seemed like they were having a good time.
Location was amazing, at the beginning of Mission St, right next to Market St and the ferry building. Bus 14 and Cable car F stops on the same corner of the hotel, MUNI station a block away, and a 10 minute walk to Union Square. The neighborhood is clean, with beautiful views of the Bay Bridge, has a good nightlife atmosphere and many places to eat and drink since it's very close to offices.
I know it might be a little more expensive than other hotels I considered booking in SF, but for me, it was worth every penny. I recommend it without hesitating.
Ps: finally took some photos of the room!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandrabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Alejandrabc

We are so delighted to hear that you had exceptional experience during your recent stay at Hotel Vitale. We are so fortunate to be centrally located in a clean and lively atmosphere in San Francisco, and even more privileged to have an amazing team—including Monique, who is fabulous—that aims to celebrate every guest experience. Hotel Vitale team members aim to provide each guest with a memorable, urban escape that leaves them feeling better than expected – it is my pleasure to read that they have done so.

Next time you are in San Francisco, we invite you to dine at Americano where our chef’s create savory, local dishes that feature several ingredients from the Ferry Building right across the street. You won’t regret it. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to providing you with another relaxing experience.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A beautiful location, beautiful room and wonderful staff. The terraces with views of the Bay Bridge are worth the price alone. We were give a large carafe of coffee, free of charge from the restaurant to enjoy on the terrace along with a complementary San Francisco Chronicle. If you enjoy spa treatments, the eighth floor is dedicated to quiet relaxing treatments.We travel to the city often, and this is our favorite hotel yet!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveturlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear jeannette5ofus:

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Hotel Vitale and especially enjoyed our Terraces. Any of our three terraces are a delightful spot to view the Bay Bridge and relax – I’m glad you were able to take advantage of this unique experience.

Our spa is also a great place to revitalize after a day in our beautiful city, and we are proud to offer a new Warm Bamboo Renewal treatment. The service includes techniques with polished bamboo tools, heat, and essential oils to provide a deeply relaxing experience. Even during the short time it has been offered it has quickly become a guest favorite – during your next visit we encourage you to take part in this unique opportunity.

Should your travels bring you back to San Francisco, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Reasons I loved it: rooftop deck, great location (a great Saturday market across the street at the ferry terminal), great views, clean, comfortable - unpretentious decor/ambience, great service (they threw away the old drinks in our car) Lather bath products! The only negative was the price of valet - almost $50!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear dubupak

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the naturally luxurious ambiance of Hotel Vitale. At Hotel Vitale we strive to provide a relaxing and revitalizing experience for our guests that provides a retreat from the uniquely urban city of San Francisco.

We are so fortunate to have an amazing team, such as our valet team, who are committed to providing every guest with great services – even when they may not even be looking. Since parking is priced at a premium in San Francisco, we do understand if you feel that the parking charge is expensive, however we do our best to remain competitive with our surrounding area.

Thank you for your honest feed back – it is with these opinions that we can continue to exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Vitale.


Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,125 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $471 - $1,361
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing