We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
USD 270*
USD 221*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 446*
USD 226*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
USD 304*
USD 255*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
USD 233*
USD 222*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 290*
USD 240*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 298*
USD 279*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
USD 527*
USD 476*
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 761*
USD 326*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 318*
USD 207*
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
USD 354*
USD 307*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,839)
Filter reviews
1,839 results
Traveller rating
1,029
502
172
75
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,029
502
172
75
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay bridgeferry buildingamericano restaurantcircular suitewaterfront roomgreat locationfarmers marketslanted doorcd playermission streetbath productsroom servicethe financial districtcity viewhotel restaurantluxury hotelcomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,263 - 1,268 of 1,839 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Everything is perfect except for the weak gym. The exercise room is way way below average. However the great location allows for exercise along the water quite easily. Outdoor workouts are best anyway so I take nothing away from vitale for this lapse. Doorless showers are nice. Beds and pillows perfect. Very nice after work drinking crowd in the bar. If rooms are available I will continue to stay when in town.

Room Tip: Water views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPonacrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear TRIPonacrack:

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Vitale and found the room accommodations most comfortable. Our location along the water does provide an exceptional place to exercise, however I am disappointed to hear that you found our gym below your satisfaction. We have recently started to renew our gym equipment, as well as its décor, to improve the atmosphere and experience for our guests. We also offer complimentary access to the state-of-the-art YMCA only a ½ block from us, as well as a discount to the world renown Bay Club. Our concierge can assist with arrangements on your future visits.

We appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale, and the revitalized gym.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

New, modern hotel on the Embarcadero, in front of the Ferry building. I got a corner room, beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was huge, with an awesome bathtub (that was like a swimming pool) and a separated shower. Every afternoon they leave you chocolates, the weather forecast for tomorrow and a piece of paper with nice quotes! Great detail. Also, if you agree, they leave you the San Francisco Chronicle every morning, hanging from your door nob in a nice little bag.
The staff was amazing, especially Monique, the concierge, very helpful.
Breakfast was delicious (only menu, no buffet) and even though I didn't have dinner or drinks at the restaurant, it was always full of people and seemed like they were having a good time.
Location was amazing, at the beginning of Mission St, right next to Market St and the ferry building. Bus 14 and Cable car F stops on the same corner of the hotel, MUNI station a block away, and a 10 minute walk to Union Square. The neighborhood is clean, with beautiful views of the Bay Bridge, has a good nightlife atmosphere and many places to eat and drink since it's very close to offices.
I know it might be a little more expensive than other hotels I considered booking in SF, but for me, it was worth every penny. I recommend it without hesitating.
Ps: finally took some photos of the room!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandrabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Alejandrabc

We are so delighted to hear that you had exceptional experience during your recent stay at Hotel Vitale. We are so fortunate to be centrally located in a clean and lively atmosphere in San Francisco, and even more privileged to have an amazing team—including Monique, who is fabulous—that aims to celebrate every guest experience. Hotel Vitale team members aim to provide each guest with a memorable, urban escape that leaves them feeling better than expected – it is my pleasure to read that they have done so.

Next time you are in San Francisco, we invite you to dine at Americano where our chef’s create savory, local dishes that feature several ingredients from the Ferry Building right across the street. You won’t regret it. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to providing you with another relaxing experience.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A beautiful location, beautiful room and wonderful staff. The terraces with views of the Bay Bridge are worth the price alone. We were give a large carafe of coffee, free of charge from the restaurant to enjoy on the terrace along with a complementary San Francisco Chronicle. If you enjoy spa treatments, the eighth floor is dedicated to quiet relaxing treatments.We travel to the city often, and this is our favorite hotel yet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveturlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear jeannette5ofus:

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Hotel Vitale and especially enjoyed our Terraces. Any of our three terraces are a delightful spot to view the Bay Bridge and relax – I’m glad you were able to take advantage of this unique experience.

Our spa is also a great place to revitalize after a day in our beautiful city, and we are proud to offer a new Warm Bamboo Renewal treatment. The service includes techniques with polished bamboo tools, heat, and essential oils to provide a deeply relaxing experience. Even during the short time it has been offered it has quickly become a guest favorite – during your next visit we encourage you to take part in this unique opportunity.

Should your travels bring you back to San Francisco, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Reasons I loved it: rooftop deck, great location (a great Saturday market across the street at the ferry terminal), great views, clean, comfortable - unpretentious decor/ambience, great service (they threw away the old drinks in our car) Lather bath products! The only negative was the price of valet - almost $50!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear dubupak

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the naturally luxurious ambiance of Hotel Vitale. At Hotel Vitale we strive to provide a relaxing and revitalizing experience for our guests that provides a retreat from the uniquely urban city of San Francisco.

We are so fortunate to have an amazing team, such as our valet team, who are committed to providing every guest with great services – even when they may not even be looking. Since parking is priced at a premium in San Francisco, we do understand if you feel that the parking charge is expensive, however we do our best to remain competitive with our surrounding area.

Thank you for your honest feed back – it is with these opinions that we can continue to exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Vitale.


Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Vitale for two nights back in September and found the hotel to be first rate. Firstly it's not cheap and if you want a room with a view then be prepared to pay even more. However it's location is fantastic and you can sit across from the Embarcadero whilst enjoying a few drinks in the hotel bar. The room we stayed in was an urban studio which came with a separate shower and bath - great being able to have a bath whilst looking out to the bay. The only thing to be wary of is the rather expensive valet service - $45 a night is not cheap in my mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Richard P:

I am delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed the convenient location of Hotel Vitale. I apologize for the unexpected price of the valet Service; however, because location and parking is priced at a premium in San Francisco, we do our best to make sure we are competitively priced. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale in the future.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews