We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxed, vibrant place to chill”
Review of Cafe Flore

Cafe Flore
Ranked #979 of 5,715 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: The Castro
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed, vibrant place to chill”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I really enjoying hanging out in this neighborhood cafe. It's very colorful and vibrant. I often meet friends here. The food is good and there is a wide selection of drinks.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    65
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordova
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great people watching venue”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Get there early before the kitchen runs out of your favorites. Our food substitutions were good as well, but a bit disappointed our original order wasn't available.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank disneyfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
"The OC", CA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great People Watching!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Went Sunday after church at Reality a block down.
It is a cute little place with a fun spirit to it.
I LOVED the people watching here... a terrific crowd!
A friend and I (both moms) were there with a group of college kids.
It was about 11:15 so some of us got breakfast and some got lunch.
I got the cinnamon & macadamia nut crusted hawaiian bread french toast which was quite yummy (we got a THIMBLE full of syrup and asked for more but no one remembered or ever brought it).
I split this with my friend who got a veggie omelet and potatoes... also quite tasty.
The lattes (you order drinks separately at the bar) were OK.
The hamburgers and fries looks very standard... nothing to write home about.
We got in and got seats inside right away, which was nice.
It felt cozy and cheery and I seriously could've just stayed in my seat and watched all the diners cycle in and out all day!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An embarrassment”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I cannot believe how bills itself for the neighborhood it is in.......that coupled with the greasy food......so embarrassing.... this is supposed to be an iconic eatery.... it is not.....

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great outdoor seating but overpriced and no free refills...”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Have always enjoyed going to Cafe Flore for a tasty meal on a gorgeous day where one can sit outside in their "right-in-the-middle-of-the-castro" patio! Today was that day. While the food was yummy, which it often is, I was shocked when my friend paid $23 for a mandarin chicken salad with extra chicken and a diet coke. Seriously? And then when we went to the other bar to get refills on our diet coke there a $1 charge for each refill. Nothing frustrates me more than fountain soda refill charges...it is maybe $0.02 to provide a customer a review. I like this place but am going to reconsider coming because of feeling gouged!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cedvardsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Flore also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing