We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Throw in FANTASTIC staff, HUGE suites, access to everything and it's perfect!
The wine reception in the afternoon was very fun. We met people from all over the world.
The cable car is right next door, the harbor is just across the street. TONS of restaurants w/i just a few blocks...Could have not been better!

Room Tip: Book as far ahead as you can to get bay view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfireagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,764)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,378 - 3,382 of 5,764 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

My sister and My daughter live in and around the San Francisco Bay area so i have little opportunity in the past to experience the true tourist perspective. My wife, four year old daughter and local 21 year old daughter decided on this hotel. I decided to booked a suite. It was a bit more than i usually like to spend, but thought we would be more comfortable and it was cheaper than trying to book to adjoining rooms. The moment we drove up to the front door of the hotel we were pleasantly surprised at the level of service and attention to detail. The door man and valet were extremely kind and helpful. They quickly unloaded our car and assisted us to the front desk. All the while, the door man was playful with my 4 year old. He walked her over to the toy chest and she selected to items. check in was extremely brief as i had booked the room on-line. We were escorted to our suite, give a brief tour of the room and offered to assist us with any local restaurants or activities.

The suite was gorgeous. Large (i think the website said it was 900 sq ft), and comfortable. the living room area had a large dining room table, sofa bed and two chairs. Very nicely decorated in a nautical theme. The bedroom was large with its own TV and two chairs. In the closet was two animal print bath robes for adults and one for a child. The bathroom was large with a huge sunken Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. the toilet was in a separate water closet. We were extremely happy with the room.

The hotel is located in fisherman’s Warf, right next to the trolley turnaround and Ghirardelli square. As well as walking distance to Pier 39 and north beach. Just a perfect spot for visiting San Francisco. We walked, trollied or muni'ed everywhere except for when we went the academy of science in Golden gate Park. a $20 taxi ride was well worth it because we were running late.

I really like this property. I consider it one of my best hotel experiences yet.

Room Tip: We had suite 201 which is right at street level. it wasn't at all noisy. I can only image that...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the winter for my daughter's birthday trip to San Francisco, and we brought our little dog along for good measure. This hotel is lovely in a renovated historic buiding, and all the common areas as well as the rooms have chill nautical motifs with sophisticated tones. The location is perfect at the very end of the wharf district across from a rather large park (which is the terminus for one of the trolley lines as well) and the small beach where unbelievably each morning we saw swimmers. We had a sea view of the port and Alcatraz in the distance, other views would include the park or city so should also be lovely.The hotel is walking distance to Ghiradelli Square and the whole wharf/port, including the small aquarium and the transport to Alcatraz. You drive up to the main entrance and they valet the car and we only took it out twice during our trip to travel over the Golden Gate bridge and cruise the city for fun ( the valet service here was excellent and swift and the rate though extra would not be beaten by garaging on your own). Overall the qualities that distinguish this hotel, are the hotels' staff, particularly the doormen, a service and welcome that many fine hotels have sadly done away with. Such kindness and normality they showed to us and our dog during the stay: they not only greeted us by name they did the same for her, and even at hotels that allow dogs I have never actually felt that it was welcomed instead of merely tolerated. We could also leave her in the room if we had to without caging her or confining her. I have recommended this hotel since to all friends with or without pets because they really made us feel at home, with comfortable beds, attentive personalized service and a beautiful location in arguably Americas loveliest city.

Room Tip: Extra may be asked for the Alcatraz view rooms which views over the port as well, we paid extra but...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here for a week and the service was great. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the staff was really friendly and welcoming. Every evening they had a wine and hors d'oeuvre hour which was a great way to socialize with other guests and find out about all the fun things going on.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Argonaut is a beautiful looking hotel with lovely rooms and nice touches such as the complimentary wine, however a few things let it down for us. The first and main frustrations were led by the overall naiveté of front desk staff, their lack of welcome and their dismissive attitude - our four interactions with them were the same and created poor first and last impressions. The second was the noise from the road - on our last night I was woken up at 4am to some rubbish collection / street cleaning, then around 5am to DRILLING, then at 6am to an over enthusiastic person with a tanoy on a boat - far from restive. The third was the inability of room service to get our breakfast order right - it took them three attempts to get a simple order correct by which time the luxury of having breakfast in bed had worn off. The final nail in the coffin was the exorbitant price for parking - 46 dollars a night - you're having a laugh, I don't pay that in the centre of London!!! You can self park and drop your luggage off outside the hotel, much cheaper and there is ample parking around the block. Things in its favour include good positioning for Fisherman's Wharf, however in our opinion the Wharf was not to the scale and standard that we were expecting - think cheap looking shops, tired restaurants and tacky souvenirs), Pier 39 being the best part with slightly better quality shops/restaurants with fat seal lions and a very pretty carousel at its heart, in fact great for entertaining and feeding the kids. Ghiardelli  Square - I really can't see what the fuss is about?! over-rated as there is a small centre with many outlets that are empty and a few restaurants (including a lori's diner which was excellent with a lovely welcoming waitress where we went instead for breakfast) - there  just isn't  that much else there. We did dine out on 2 occasions and the more up-market restaurants fill in all of the blanks regarding style and service, we would certainly recommend both Spruce and Boulevard for position, style, service and ambience, both absolutely amazing. We also went to lunch at The Waterbar, great position and view of the Bay bridge. The city itself is everything you would expect and does not disappoint, the cable car is the cheapest BUT the best way to see and experience SF, the buildings are beautiful with quaint houses all painted beautifully, very Pacific Heights and the modern buildings at the heart of the city are equally impressive. Our stay at the Argonaut finished as it started - with a dismissive boy on reception who didn't ask us about our stay - assuming we were honoured to be there - who was very quick to charge us the $2,200 - wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Hanandchewwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Hanaandchewwy... oh, dear... I am so very, very sorry that our staff failed you at both arrival and departure and left you feeling dismissed. Our team normally ranks way up there for friendliness and "can do attitude," but it seems we experienced a concerning "bad hair day" recently, and I am definitely getting to the bottom of it. If you have any further details to share, please know that I am always open to getting more information in the interest of making things right and achieving 100% consistency. I will not settle for less than that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,221 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,295 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $358 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing