We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel on the water!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We swear to the Kimpton hotels best brand ever!

Argonaut Hotel is a short shuttle from SFO or Bart/F Train so simple access.

A lot of the hotels in the are are dates and worn down, the Argonaut it AA++ nice, fresh and cozy. Great door staff and check in staff, simple and fast and always willing to provide upgrades at no cost. Nice warm fireplace on cold SF days and nights and free happy hour beer and wine.

Rooms are great, lots of room and great views of the Bridge/bay

Tons of places to eat with in walking distance, , Trolley access turn around out side your window.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RollPositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,516 - 3,520 of 5,815 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

We travelled to San Francisco for spring break with two teens. The Argonaut could not have been in a better location. The rooms are nicely updated, large and clean. We did not have the same experience with the staff as the other reviewers. They did not go out of their way to help. They were helpful if asked but only in the most minimal way. This is very different in our experiences with Kimpton hotels. Usually service is over the top. We would stay here again due to location and condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornflks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon. As our cab pulled up to the front door, a doorman was waiting to welcome us (Steve, who was great) and take us into the hotel and introduced us to the front desk staff. Check in took less than five minutes. We had joined the Kimpton program prior to our arrived to get free internet in our room and also received a ten dollar gift card for the mini bar! Our room was 469. Not much of a view - of the mexican restaurant next door - but we were rarely in the room!. Had a large sofa in the living area which was great when we returned, exhausted, to the room. The bathroom was nice too - had shampoo and conditioner in the shower, a hair dryer, lotion, cotton balls and swabs and plenty of towels. The room had a safe, iron and ironing board, robes and slipper socks (to use while you were there) and an umbrella to use while there (which came in handy). There was a fully stocked mini bar and plenty of room in the fridge for our leftovers! There was also a CD player and a CD to listen to. The hotel lobby was very unique, with deck chairs and cushions to complete the nautical theme. There is a light by your door to indicate whether you want your room made up or not. There are no knocks on the door - they just see the light and move on if you want privacy! The hotel is pet friendly and placards on the doors indicated which rooms had pets. We love dogs and had no issues with this. The bed was quite comfy - but had a really large mirror at the foot of it, which has a little unsettling when you got up in the middle of the night. There is a motion light in the entry way that comes on when you up to use the restroom and also the light in the bathroom is a dimmer switch. The only downside - starbucks coffee (which my husband hates) with the coffee maker (also located in the bathroom). A big plus for me is that the closet contains lots of hangers - i had a hanger for everything - even my husband got to use some - which rarely happens! The bathroom also has a large makeup mirror and bath mat. Another thing we really enjoyed was the ability to actually open our window. The weather was quite cool and we enjoyed feeling the breeze at night. There are also ample outlets to plug things in. The hotel offers a hot chocolate hour for kids (we never made it) and a wine hour from 5 - 6 pm every night. This is a great way to sample some California wines. I really, really enjoyed the "hot toddies" which were apple cider, bourbon and whipped cream. I know it doesn't sound all that great, but you have to try it. They offered cider for the kids during the wine hour too, which was nice. Get there a little early if you want a seat - the lobby is rather small and the seats fill up quickly. I recommend the chairs by the fire - a great place to sip your toddy and met fellow travelers. We also used the business center located at the end of the main lobby hallway. There are a couple of computers and a printer that we used to print our boarding passes. There is a fitness center on the second floor (the hotel has four floors) that we looked in but never used. There seemed to be many pieces of equipment and some hula hoops. The location cant be beat - we are older (50's and 60's) and walked everywhere - the cable car turnaround is right next door to the hotel. We walked down to the Alcatraz landing and Ferry Building. The Ferry Building is about a mile, but seems shorter as there is so much to see along the way. Pier 39 is also just a few blocks away - with lots of restaurants and shops and the sea lions. Customer service is a priority here - Steve, the doorman, was especially helpful - offering suggestions on restaurants, helping us get a cab, etc. When we checked out it was April Fool's Day and Blase, who waited on us, said "Did you feel the earthquake last night?" I said "NO!" - quite disappointed that I didn't, and he said "That's because there wasn't one - April Fool's!!!!" This hotel is pretty expensive, but well worth it in my opinion. The other hotels we saw on the Wharf didn't even compare with the Argonaut. I think you will love this place. I would definitely stay here if we return to San Francisco. Also, eat at the Blue Mermaid - the crab and corn chowder was the best i had anywhere on the Wharf - and the calamari was excellent! Breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view - but didn't ask for one. We left our room early in the morning and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinchuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Horrible service... extremely rude. Absolutely not accomadating to any request we had. We tried to be nice and they did not comply. Not helpful in the slightest bit. I do not recommend this hotel. There are plenty of beautiful places to stay right next door!

Room Tip: helpful tip... DON'T GO
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IreneS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg P, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear IreneS_9,

Before I say anything else, please accept my apologies! To think that you left the Argonaut with this impression is a huge disappointment to all of us.

We strive to provide the best service possible but realize there is always room for improvement. Any additional details you could tell me would me most helpful. Please accept my invitation to discuss your experience over a separate email or phone call. As manager I am eager to find out what exactly happened & where improvements are needed.

You can contact me directly at greg.pinetti@argonauthotel.com

-Greg Pinetti AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Was attending a convention for one day in San Fran and then planned to take a few more days to relax and see the sights. We were booked into the Argonaut for 5 days and must say that the location is perfect.

Early morning walks on the Piers overlooking the Golden Gate, to late night taxis home from restaurants and bars, everything was enjoyable.

We were in a room on the 3rd floor facing the street behind the hotel. Not bad, but could have been less exciting as a few rooms face an internal courtyard where nothing much is going on. The marine theme is consistent throughout the hotel, a bit unusual at first, but you quickly get used to it. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

There is a wine bar next to the front entrance, which is a good place to have a local bottle before heading out.

Need a taxi? It can be a bit hit or miss, but the bellmen/concierge are glad to help with enthusiasm!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,278 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,371 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $322 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing