We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap place to stay in the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #142 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Wheatfield, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap place to stay in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The room is pretty average but clean. They have very limited parking so we parked on the street close by, not a big inconvenience but I would have been happier parking in the hotel lot. Still, a very good find, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    94
    52
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
78
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

First, let me say my rating is more like a 3.5. Now, I'm not knocking the location at all. We wanted to stay at a place away from the tourists despite wanting to do one or two things near the Embarcadero area. Glad we did as this hotel was close to the Pacific Heights area and in a good neighborhood. We took public transport and one of the best things about this hotel is the free parking so we didn't have to worry about the car until we needed it (which wasn't very often). It is first come first served, but just time your parking for the middle of the day if you can.

The area isn't too far from the Union St. shopping area and was right next to the Presidio. Straight bus line to Haight Ashbury and Golden Gate park too. (Could walk it but it was a little long).

The room was acceptable. Clean enough. Don't expect the Ritz. I would stay there again and in fact, considering the prices of most San Fran hotels this was a bargain. Wish we had more time to explore because we see cute little shopping and restaurant areas not far away.

Room Tip: Park in the middle of the day to ensure a spot. Also, if you don't mind public transport (and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6continents_counting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 6 nights. It is a very small inn with very limited parking but ssince we had no car it wasn't a problem. Rooms are very clean, bed is very comfy. Each morning there is coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit & pastries, although there is no place to eat except for in your room. No prob. Coffee and tea are still available throughout the day & evening. No restaurant on premises. This hotel is in a nice, quiet neighborhood and within walking distance of several bus lines to take you to Fisherman's Wharf or downtown. Plenty of eateries and a Walgreen's drugstore nearby as well. Staff are nice. They can arrange a shuttle van to take you to the airport for $15 per person. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, clean, simple accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonCorona_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

In the world of budget hotels in SF with at least some parking, this was a good bargain. As noted above the breakfast is nothing much, but about what you expect. The room was clean and neat and larger than I expcted. The location is convenient for a lot of things - easy to catch a bus here to Golden Gate park or lots of other areas. The Marina is loaded with pretty decent restaurants within walking distance. The entrance to the Presidio is right next door. The parking situation is advertised as "limited free parking" which is honest enough - limited in that there are about half as many spaces as rooms. Street parking is fairly available around here, but limited to 3 hours during weekdays - not nights or weekends. This would be much more of a hassle for someone who wanted to drive around the area while staying here. We parked on the street the first night, then got a space in the morning in the lot and never moved the car again during our stay (public transit here is as good as anywhere in the US), so it was not bad for us Price was excellent. For a budget motel in SF, about as good as you can do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicoDavidRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova, Italia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Country Hearth is a small family owned hotel close to the Presidio, and this the only con:2 km from Golden Gate, downtown is a bit farther, and if you are not a good walker, public transport is needed.
Breakfast you have to bring on a tray to your room, which is clean, gifted with purified water and air, and a copy of the Bagavad Gita in the drawer. Very quiet.
Parking is in the courtyard but not for everybody: first comers have the places.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#166 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#132 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Property: Inn at Golden Gate
Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $156 - $352
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing