We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for San Francisco”
Review of Van Ness Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Ness Inn Hotel
Ranked #190 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

A basic room was all I required and the Van Ness offered this for a reasonable price. I also stayed here two years ago. Breakfast of tea/coffee, yoghurt, pastries and fruit included. Close enough to the piers. Helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I saw seemingly good reviews of this hotel here, so my wife and I tried it for our anniversary weekend. We were disappointed. It does have a decent location, near the Fishermans wharf area, a short walking distance. It is NOT a 3 star hotel. I would have rather stayed at a Motel 6, less cost , likely slightly better quality. They have inadequate parking. There were hairs on the pillow on our bed. The room was just ok, nothing to get excited over. I had issues with wifi, which was free at least. There's just one ice machine in the parking lot. You have double park, and either be blocked in, or give your keys to the attendant, who is little more than a minimum wage college kid, who can do nothing except check in and check out. He Couldn’t even give me a full roll of toilet paper. This is not worth $150/night

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

front desk are rude, i dont think they realize they're in the hospitality business, rooms are ok, stingy on bath towels (1) and you have to ask for an extra and they dont like it.

will never come back here again, not worth it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Rommel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Big and cleen room. Free parking, we left the car keys to the reseptionist because the cars parked outside of eachother, that wasnt a problem! Good location, 10/15 minutes walk to Fishermans wharf. Lumbard street was on the next street.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ailiskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Have stayed here previously as we visit SF frequently. Van Ness Inn usually has very competitive rate for this area of SF, so good value for the money. This stay is the first time we had a room on the top floor. It was even opposite the elevator, so was grumpy about it at first. But found the street noise was actually a little less pronounced up there. Also, running the AC Fan-only, in any of the rooms, gives a nice white-noise against the traffic/hotel noise. Coffee and breakfast is good, but can get monotonous, so try breakfast at the coffee shop across the street once or twice. Love the free wifi, frig & microwave (there is a tiny market across the street and a larger Safeway in the Marina a few blocks away). Our bed has always been comfortable. We also like that the windows open for fresh air. Only complaint is that the outside and walkways are pretty ugly, but don't be deterred, the actual rooms are quite acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#173 of 230 in San Francisco
506 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#178 of 230 in San Francisco
491 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#145 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 230 in San Francisco
562 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Ness Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Ness Inn Hotel

Address: 2850 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-1426 (Formerly America's Best Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $99 - $1,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Ness Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Van Ness Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing