We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok as I had a hire car but read my notes for parking.”
Review of Van Ness Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Ness Inn Hotel
Ranked #188 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Hotel is easy to find and just off Van Ness where highway 1 north traffic turns so a little less traffic passing by here. Rooms are being upgraded but mine looked tired with cracked washbasin and badly scratched toilet. However, it was okay for one night. Price competitive and at least with my own bathroom unlike many hotels at this price. Just might be worth noting that if you park, it is best in a space where nobody parks behind you as you may be woken at night if somebody needs to be out & you have not left keys in reception.

Room Tip: Renovated if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2016

The place is a little older but it is kept up. Bathroom was kind of small. TV had issues so I used the WIFI. Has small continental breakfast. Place was clean and quite. There is parking a plus in SF. Its close so you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf and to Russian Hill.

Room Tip: Stay out of corner room the traffic noise echos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FilAmfighter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The staff was so rude. But, I like the hotel. The room was spacious and the location was very nice. It is near North Beach and Lombard Street (within walking distance). Also it was a nice walk to the Golden Bridge, we get to pass through other nice parks. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

i spent 3 days thare and i can say tath the location is very good, for the rest the room are ok, nothing special. S.F. is a very expensive city is is good thet i can park your car at the motel and is free.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daviddvd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Regrettably I prepaid for the hotel. It is the first time I have had to buy an air freshener for a hotel room - it stank! In the 2 days I stayed there, I was unable to open the door - my husband could after 4 or 5 tries! Very noisy - make sure you take ear plugs. The only good thing was location as it was within walking distance of fishermans wharf.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank penkiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#178 of 230 in San Francisco
493 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#159 of 230 in San Francisco
142 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
Howard Johnson San Francisco Mar...
#186 of 230 in San Francisco
232 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 230 in San Francisco
566 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#175 of 230 in San Francisco
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Ness Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Ness Inn Hotel

Address: 2850 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-1426 (Formerly America's Best Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Ness Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Van Ness Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing