We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is my second stay at The Orchard, for six nights and on a lower floor in room 204. I'm picky about hotels and can tell you there is value for your money here! Our window faces Bush Street but the room is surprisingly quiet for being almost ground level. The room is spacious, clean, adequate lighting, with all amenities that you need--bar niche with refrig. and complimentary coffee & tea, large and nice bathroom, ultra comfortable featherbed & down pillows, free wifi. Hallways are bright and clean. Go downstairs and the hotel personnel are friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant off the lobby. Orchard is located half-way up Nob Hill, very close to Union Square, an excellent location. The walk is a bit of a climb back up to the hotel, but not worth complaining about. I feel at home here! San Francisco hotel rooms are typically small, so this hotel, coupled with reasonable rates, is a stand out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishHWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    883
    155
    39
    21
See reviews for
306
1,295
173
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Orchard is a great hotel conveniently located in Union Square. From the warm welcome of the doorman, to the attentive service from the front desk staff, my first impressions were fantastic. I was pleasantly surprised by the generous room and tasteful decor. A quiet hotel, yet right in the heart of the action. Would recommend the Orchard Hotel to anyone and look forward to staying there on my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richierich1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I had a great stay for six nights at the Orchard Hotel. My only complaint was it was up a hill with a steep grade, but only for the 1 block ... but that was not the hotel's fault, but keep in mind if you have difficulty walking up hills. The room was superb with a great view onto Bush Street. You could hear the cable cars running on the Mason-Powell Line / Mason-Hyde Line ... but it was not loud enough to be a bother and they shut down later in the evening. Bed was good, room was clean and house keeping did a great job as did the doorman / conceirage with friendly chat and advice. We did not use the restaurant, but there are a number of cafe's and restaurants in the area. If your environmentally aware, the hotel does not provide free papers (which I hate anyway, as I never have time to read them and they always hit the waste bin when travelling) and the building is LEED certified (although I have not followed up as to what catagory and level). All in all, not complaints. It is a very good location to access the city by either cable car / trolley / bus or taxi.

Room Tip: Did need A/C during stay ... but it seems to be central, not a window unit. Heat was forced air an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiantraveller027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at The Orchard in March, 2012 for two nights for business/personal. After much research, I decided The Orchard was reasonably priced (for San Francisco) and well located. I wanted access to the hotspots of The City without being in the middle of crazed tourisits. I am thrilled with my experience at The Orchard from the large room and wonderfully updated and HUGE bathroom (again, for San Francisco). I have stayed at many a "boutique" hotel that were absolutely tiny but so opposite at The Orchard. Chinatown and Union Square are both within walking distance and you can get a great work-out from those hills. Chinatown is 2 blocks away and if you go straight through the neigborhood across the street from the hotel, the hill(s) and stairs are exactly what you need before hitting an authentic Chinese restaurant and bakery! Remember, look for the restaurants who serve the local culture, not the tourist traps in ethnic neighborhoods. You will have a much better, inexpensive, and friendly experience. We chose to valet park our vehicle at The Orchard. We simply needed to leave and come back once a day so felt it would be easier to spend the $45 ($40 + $5 parking tax) to have it parked for us. If you choose to use valet, call down for your car 15 minutes before you are ready to leave. One morning, it took them 20 minutes to retrieve our car (even though we pre-called) and the next morning it only took 10 minutes. They will call your room if the car is ready before you come downstairs. I always request the highest floor possbile when traveling. I like a view and I like quiet. We were on the 10th floor on opposite end of hotel from Bush/Powell corner and I was shocked at how quiet our room was. Quieter than my house and noise from my neighborhood! I can't say enough good things about The Orchard Hotel and I look forward to staying there again in a few months!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is comfortable and clean and inexpensive. The rooms are spacious with a wonderful bathroom. We enjoyed very personal service from our concierge/doorman. The hotel is just 2 blocks from Union Square and right on the cable car line.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoGalVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,167 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,613 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,127 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $292 - $600
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing