We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Great hotel and service. Amazing location. No complaints. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisaCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,629
    860
    154
    37
    19
See reviews for
295
1,268
169
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The best hotel I had in the City so far.
Very central but quiet. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Just checked out from a 3 night stay for a conference at Fort Mason Center. This is a lovely boutique hotel located steps from the street-cars, a steady stream of taxi's and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Plus - Starbucks one block away. Very safe neighborhood, as well. We heard that some of the hotels can be quite noisy with street activity, but the rooms here are very quiet (9th floor) and very comfortable. Didn't eat here, as we spent most of our time exploring. There is a nice little restaurant next door - Roxanne Cafe - that's great for breakfast. Sanraku sushi and Cesario's italian just down the street were both excellent. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Cal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel is in the heart of the city, you'll love it. The current staff is wonderful, Damian is the manager and made our group of 15 welcome and caterered to our very needs. Great bargain compared to other hotels. Food was great but the dining room is a bit expensive but you have many choices bc youre in SF. I felt like a king!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnie92673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 6 days in late May 2011. We liked our room and the space it offered, we didn't feel cramped as you do in some downtown San Fran hotel rooms. The bathroom was a good size and had the standard amenities. I did miss having a fan in the bathroom, and since the windows did not open the whole room would be a little steamy after having two people shower in a row. All in all the room itself is plainly decorated but clean and has most things you would look for - desk, free wireless internet, minibar/fridge, iron and dry cleaning available.

We used the room service menu just once to get breakfast. The tab was $50 and our meals were quite small - my husband had a breakfast sandwich and I had a scone, english muffin, fruit and juice. Not worth the money! Also, the lady making up our breakfast trays called our room twice an hour before delivery (7 AM) because she didn't know if she got our order right. Twice! Needless to say, we didn't do that again as there are many better breakfast options nearby the hotel (like Sear's fine foods, just 2 blocks down or Starbucks).

As for amenities, we only checked out the DVD library and hit up the front desk/concierge for advice a few times. DVD library was fairly updated with a good range of movies to choose from. There are no movie channels available so it was nice to have that. The front desk staff were always very courteous and helpful, even calling for a last-minute town car for us at 5:30 AM one morning when we forgot to make reservations earlier.

We had a good stay and would consider staying again. Great location, good value, and good staff made our vacation comfortable & fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montgomerytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,053 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
1,404 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $293 - $547
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing