We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike it!”

Angel Island State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 149.00*
and up
San Francisco City Sights Seaplane Tour
More Info
USD 229.00*
and up
Greater Bay Area SeaplaneTour
More Info
USD 159.00*
and up
Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour
Ranked #33 of 546 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest island in San Francisco Bay features magnificent views of Marin County and San Francisco, while offering a wide variety of recreation for outdoor enthusiasts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bike it!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I brought my mountain bike on the ferry to explore the island. Old buildings, overgrown gardens, hidden beach coves, and natural habitats. And did I mention stunning views? It's a great place to bring a picnic. Just make sure you don't miss your ferry back!

Helpful?
2 Thank darcitananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    213
    55
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Get ready to see San Francisco from the bay”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Take the ferry over to the island and enjoy the views of San Francisco from the bay. If it's clear, you'll be able to see multiple bridges and experience some amazing vistas. When you're on the island you can hike or bike (bring your bike on the ferry -- either your own or one you can rent around the city). This is a great, great place to visit with active kids and/or adults. Not only do you get out onto the bay for a fraction of the cost of sailing cruises and tourist boats, but you get to see San Francisco from all angles, enjoy amazing California weather, get some exercise, etc. Perfect.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ByTheSeaByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track just a ferry away”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a beautiful little island! The main cove faces away from the traffic of SF bay, so the waters are calm and quiet. The vegetation is lush and full of blooming flowers. I did the Segway tour with my mom, who is the world's number 1 technophobe. Our guide Frida was super personable and was even able to help my mom learn and enjoy the ride. There is lots of neat history here that you may not have heard about anywhere else, such as the Civil War encampment or the Cold War missile silos. I only wish the ferry's ran a little more often, although I do understand this is considered the off season. It was definitely worth the wait to be here either way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlRaisedInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Angel Island view of SF”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

What is nice about going to Angel Island is that you get a different view of SF and it is quiet. Take the shuttle around the island and learn about the history. We shamefully interred Japanese here and there is some amazing poetry written and available from that time. Take a picnic and kick back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank vschlafke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great place to sail to”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I visiting Angel Island who took a sail boat there. While a bit chilly on the bay--the sun warmed island was a welcomed relief. I enjoyed this place being very far from the city (at least that is how it felt) and yet very easy to get to. I also enjoyed barbecuing here.

Helpful?
Thank Jamesthewineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angel Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Angel Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing