We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Walt Disney Family Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 25.00*
and up
The Walt Disney Family Museum Admission in San Francisco
More Info
USD 45.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour on a Classic Cable Car
More Info
USD 55.00*
and up
San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Evening Bike Tour
Ranked #15 of 546 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madera, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We found the museum to be full of interesting facts about Walt Disney. Things we did not know before. We enjoyed our visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheDunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,528
    527
    127
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little deeper understanding of the Man behind the Mouse”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This was truly interesting. If you are a true Disney fan this is a Must See. It's Walts Life, not just Mickey :) the staff is friendly and they have done an amazing job with this little museum. Great Home Video's of Walt and Family also.

Helpful?
1 Thank Disneygal827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great insight into the Disney Family”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I thought this would be a boring museum to visit but was very pleasantly surprised. It was one of the standout attractions of our trip to SF. This museum has inspired our daughters to draw and express their ideas on paper.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Spend The Day”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

As a huge Disney fan I was very excited to experience this museum. There is a lot of reading to do and you can easily spend hours upon hours here.

When I went the entry fee was 20 dollars for adults. There was a AAA discount 0f 5 dollars. Strollers nor cameras are not permitted and the staff reminds you several times before entry. Also on the ticket it also states no cell phones but I'd seen people using them discretely.

This is not a place for young children under 12 at all. Its primarily literature, leaving even the most well behaved child rather bored and loud. There were about 4 interactive activities that I could remember but most were of interviews with staff. You'll learn all about Walt's life and struggle before and after Disneyland. It's beautifuly put together and I really recommend you go with at least 4 hours to spare. At the end is a gift and coffee shop that had somewhat fair prices and helpful staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 559MoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

What a wonderful way to honor an amazing man! Thank you Walt Disney for all you've done! So nice to have a place to present all his history - absolutely worth seeing. It's not particularly for young children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelscml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walt Disney Family Museum also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Walt Disney Family Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing