We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Garden”

Japanese Tea Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 35.00*
and up
Golden Gate Park Surrey Rental
Ranked #56 of 716 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four-acre refuge in Golden Gate Park featuring Japanese architecture and gardens.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A pleasant but small Japanese Garden in Golden Gate Park. Crowds can be a problem. Seattle's garden is much nicer.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"golden gate park"
in 441 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 85 reviews
"water features"
in 24 reviews
"gardens are beautiful"
in 26 reviews
"gift shop"
in 100 reviews
"free admission"
in 44 reviews
"de young museum"
in 50 reviews
"fortune cookies"
in 25 reviews
"walk around"
in 25 reviews
"pagoda"
in 138 reviews
"bonsai"
in 25 reviews
"trees"
in 116 reviews
"bridge"
in 288 reviews
"beauty"
in 121 reviews
"paths"
in 106 reviews
"statues"
in 50 reviews
"mocha"
in 29 reviews
Filter

121 - 125 of 3,093 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

What a gorgeous, peaceful retreat inside the city! If you admire Asian-style gardens then this is a must see. So tranquil with ponds and plants and trees. There is a tea house of course for a relaxing addition to a peaceful afternoon. Obviously the gardens change with the seasons but the bridge and rocks and trees are wonderful unto themselves regardless of the season. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ms9331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The Japanese Garden is a pay-to-enter section of Golden Gate Park, but it is worth the $8 to enjoy the authentic Japanese surroundings, with little bridges, streams and pagodas dotted around for perfect Instagram photos. And yes, you can walk over that semi-circular bridge in the photos above! There is also a lovely little Japanese cafe/restaurant serving traditional cuisine. I opted for the udon (first time trying it) and herbal tea. Lovely. The queues for both the park and the restaurant can get quite lengthy, so it's just a matter of timing, but worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Traveller0893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

My wife wanted to go there and I’d be grudgingly agreed but wow am I glad we did! This is an amazing place and worth the price of admission. After the Golden Gate Bridge this is my favorite thing in San Francisco!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank AndrewF228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

After spending 2 days running around San Francisco, walking into this garden was delightful. My kids, ages 7 and 12 both agreed that this was a highlight. It was just beautiful and unexpected and I hate to say it, but it 'centered' us for the rest of our day.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank evanTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japanese Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing