We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Convenient Location and FREE Parking.”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #55 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed for three nights around mid-May 2012. We had specified in our reservation that we wanted a quiet room not on Columbus and despite a late in the day arrival, that was just what we got. Concern about the night vlub next door quickly evaporated the first night when all was quiet. Rooms are large and have the normal fittings expected in hotel. TV must have been about 40" Real perk was the free parking which we needed until we returned our rental, this has to save at least $40 per night from what I could see from other holets. Three or four block easy walk to Fisherman's wharf one way and a similar distance up Columbus to find some great Italian restaurants.
Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing Columbus Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 642 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Not a fancy hotel but comfortable. You can't beat the location to get to cable cars and walk to interesting places and restaurants. Though we didn't use our car much while in the city, we still needed to keep our car for our vacation and the free parking was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarvestMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

On our most recent trip to SF, we wanted to stay in North Beach like we always do. But we didn't want to spend a lot of money. And, because this was the start of a road trip, we had to contend with having a rental car. Enter the Columbus Motor Inn.

Their parking lots (I think there were two) are located under the inn. It's a tight fit, but what a great deal to have free parking in the city. If the lot off Columbus is full, take your first right along the side of the inn - there's another small lot down that alley.

The rooms aren't anything special. We didn't have the balcony that so many other reviews mention - if I were to stay at the inn again, I'd probably try to figure out how to get one of those rooms (we stayed in a King, so maybe that's the difference). Didn't have an issue with noise at night, even though we were right on Columbus. All the wine at dinner might have helped.

Great location, easy parking, cheap cheap cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2012. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to many attractions in San Francisco. My wife and I like to walk so for us China town and the wharf were within easy walking distance. Our room was on the second floor with a balcony that overlooked Columbus Street. We did notice some street noise but it was not loud enough to prevent a good night’s sleep. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful with directions and recommendations. We had a rental car so the free parking was great. Some of our more enjoyable activities while in San Francisco are listed below.

1. Muir Woods
2. Golden Gate Park
3. Crossing the Golden Gate Bridge on bikes. You can take a ferry back to the Warf. Check for discount coupons for rentals.
4. The Cable Car Museum.
5. Walking and riding the Warf area.
6. Breakfast at the Hollywood Café near the wharf.
7. Dinner at the Fog Harbor Fish House at pier 39 on the wharf.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JL706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Great place, great location, within walking distance to Ferry Building and Fisherman's Wharf. Front desk staff helpful and friendly. Parking garage a plus. We didn't spend the extra $$ for a refrig, filled ice bucket each night to chill small juices for following AM, bought fruit/muffins and made coffee each AM, was quick bkft for us. Grocery story, pharmacy, etc. within walking distance. Would definitely stay again, might ask for an inside room as street noise could be bothersome, room large and clean!

Room Tip: Would stay away from rooms overlooking street - we were in 310, could see ships coming/going but tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fisherman4043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
846 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,591 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing