We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location, excellent accommodations, great value!”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Potosi, MO
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved the location, excellent accommodations, great value!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ideal location for walking the northern part of the city, very close to cable car stop, Fisherman's Wharf and all the associated sights. We ride a motorcycle, so safe parking was very important. Parking is under the inn itself, no extra fee. Rooms were immaculate, the staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Noah at the front desk could be a concierge at a five star hotel, no problem, he was an unending supply of knowledge and recommendations. Being small town people, the Columbus Motor Inn was a great fit. Definitely a top recommendation for this inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MORoadStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    568
    107
    24
    13
See reviews for
437
503
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed here with my brother and sister-in-law, in a 2-bedroom suite. The cost was half what the chain hotels were asking for single rooms. It is within a few blocks of both ghiradelli square and Chinatown. The #30 bus stops right across the street. The cable car is a couple of blocks down the street. These can get you to everything else. Room was clean and comfortable. Service was friendly (would have given five stars, except that we didn't get a replacement light bulb we asked for). Garbage trucks on the street were a bit noisy early in the morning, so an inner room might have helped, but it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for rrom away from street if you think the noise would bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ActiveTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you need to mix biz with pleasure, then this is a perfect motel to keep the family happy while ur at conferences and meetings. Free parking at the motel and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf (a few short blocks to two major Cable Car turnarounds at Hyde near Ghiradelli & Taylor streets) made it easy for me to get to my meetings, and for the rest of the family to get around on foot and public trans to major attractions. We bought 3-day passes for $21 each for unlimited rides on the Cable Cars and other public trans... best bargain ever.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz_Lady_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was a cute inn in a perfect location! I was thrilled when I found such a bargain for a place to stay in such an ideal part of the city! We walked to the fishermans wharf and ghiradelli square in just a few minutes. The rooms were clean and spacious. Will def be back the next time i'm in the city!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel....I cannot say 1 thing bad, every was just great....this is such a great deal, you will not be dissappointed. Stay here and save your money. We walked about 3 blocks, purchased a 3day pass that allowed us to ride the muni, the cable cars, city buses, $21.00 for 3 days...the oldest Italian resturant established in 1896, is 2 blocks away. The food was fantastic. You can walk to the Wharf it is that close. The bus stops in front of the hotel. The parking is great, everything was great. The rooms were very nice. This is a basic hotel, nothing fancy, but clean, nice linens, nice bedding, and the location is just great. Also, there are numerous motor inns connected to this one, in other locations in the city. I will always look to motor inns from now on. When I go to SF, I do not need a fancy hotel, I am out looking, shopping, and eating...I will most definately stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a room with a small balcony overlooking Columbus street...perfect...I like to watch people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,057 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#116 of 229 in San Francisco
811 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $306 - $387
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing