We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Bad Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Americania
Ranked #135 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This is a very cute, retro style hotel. I enjoyed the decor .. the lobby and room were just right. However (and unfortunately) I could not recommend staying in this location if you are travelling with a child or are sensitive to areas with a lot of homeless, litter, drunks and pot smokers. We had our 11 year old daughter with us....we tried to use it as a topic for social challenges! Again. not the hotel's fault but certainly a consideration if you are planning a vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Kim K,

We would like to thank you for sharing with our friends in the Trip Advisor community your recent experience at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique décor and comfortable rooms.

Our neighborhood, SoMA (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area and contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. Although by far not the luxurious part of, "The City," SoMA is continually transitioning and thriving with planned restaurant and cafe openings as well as major corporations that have recently moved their headquarters to SoMA.

We do hope you will be able to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania.

Sincerely,


Christina Cosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

Booked my room thru Expedia. Hotel located in busy area near bars and clubs. Several homeless people can be seen on the streets on the same block. When I arrived to check in, my room that I had paid almost $300 for, had been rebooked to someone else. I had booked a room with 2 beds and 1 sofa bed well in advance. They wanted to make up for it by giving me a room with 1 bed and a roll away bed. We decided to leave not stay at all. Then spent 3 days trying to get my money back from Expedia. I will not book thru Expedia ever again.

Stayed: February 2015
1  Thank Leoa710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Leoa710,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If you choose to visit us again, please call the hotel directly to reserve and I will be sure to get you the best room in house.

Sincerely,

Christina Cosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Clean and basic. Not very roomy - but adequate for short stays. experienced some discomfort in getting room temperature cool enough for sleeping. Problem with broken toilet seat. Bedding was adequate but a bit firm for maximum comfort/.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank RichRocklin_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear RichRocklin_Ca,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies in regards to the restroom and temperature in your room. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of the accommodations and hope to warmly welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Christina Cosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Decor is so cute! Love that! I got a special on the Hotel Tonight app and paid $85 a night plus tax and got free internet! The only down side is this hotel in right in the city of San Fran and at night you can hear the fire trucks run by. Another down side is the room smelled heavily of mildew. It goes away when you turn on the ac but you know it's still there... also for some reason my carpet was damp. My socks kept getting wet..

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Jennifer X,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Americania, and for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies regarding the damp carpet. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided.

We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,


Christina Cosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

If you are looking for an awesome place to say in the heart of the City, this location was great choice, especially for the price. 60's art deco, roof-top heated pool, parking, a cute fitness center and a short walk or cab ride to local attractions. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Shauntay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Hello Shauntay L,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the Best Western Plus Americania with the TripAdvisor community. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will visit again really soon!

Sincerely,


Christina Cosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
307 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
3,141 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#183 of 230 in San Francisco
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Americania

Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $177 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Americania 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing