We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking, close to Fishermans Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #113 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Buena Vista is one of many motels on this stretch of Lombard and surrounding streets. Basic budget stay with no bells and whistles. Avoid the upstairs rooms near the "lounge" area since the doors have a very poor soundproofing. The free breakfast is nothing to tell home about, you'll be better off buying your breakfast from one of the nearby cafes. Quite ok stay, if you don't expect too much and settle for a less.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrelld, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you for staying at the Buena Vista Motor Inn. Our goal is to provide comfortable stay at a reasonable price. Most of our guests like our Continental breakfast of Fruit, Pastries, juice and coffee/tea, while others prefer a hot breakfast vitit the nearby cafes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

lost my job last aug we travel on a budget now, we saved a losd of cash & found this place to be of great value, we shall stay there again! we walked everywhere ,left the car in the free parking downstairs took public trans for the rest of our 3 day stay, or walked to the peir & lombard st. the staff were GREAT!

Room Tip: my wife & i stayed last dec, short bus ride to polk street, left the benz in free parking downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICKANDCARMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

had to wait much beyond the check in time 2pm, to get the rooms ready for moving in.
rooms spacious with essential amenities in the bath. breakfast of croissants, fruits and coffee
ok for short stays. Has to be had in a small lobby, however if lobby is full, they do allow you to take some over to the room and have it. Quite a few eating place around but a minimum of 10 minutes if you decide to walk. Not a very busy place to walk around, though we had no problems. bang on the route of the open bus tours [ stop 16], so excellent value for money if a 2 or 3 day pass for the bus is bought. Only one person at the reception, but were very helpful for any queries, print outs.

Room Tip: get a room away from front side, lot of street noise, unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sagara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

First of all If you want 3+ star quality,l don't stay here. If you appreciate value for money, good location and a homely feeling, this is not a bad pick.

We stayed 10 days and had two different rooms. First one was nice from the inside but facing a wall from window. Pretty gloomy, so we asked for a possibility to change and had a nice spacious room from 1st floor facing Lombard street. Quite noisy but nice and comfortable.

Overall the rooms are spacious, the staff is friendly and it is nice that they give a complimentary continental breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, pastries and fruits). Also as travelling with a small baby they were nice enough to give us a fridge and microwave for free (normally $10/nigth per piece).

Downsides are that as it is facing the busy Lombard street it is a bit noisy. Also the AC is extremely noisy and only gives really hot or really cool temp, so it was a bit annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lombard street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainRubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We booked this hotel because of its free parking. Some hotels offer overnight parking for a “small fee” of $25 in this area.
Our room was very clean. You can grab quick Free breakfast (Pastries/coffe/orange juce) before heading off for a day full of sightseeing.
Fisherman's Wharf cable car turntable, Ghirardelli Square, Hop On - Hop Off Stop is within 15-20 min walking distance.
Very convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,175 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#149 of 230 in San Francisco
559 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
846 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $168 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing