We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveller rating
984
448
115
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
448
115
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grace cathedral nob hill big restaurant infinity pool piano bar cable car steam room california street upgraded to a suite union square an upgrade classic hotel room service one bedroom suite beautiful hotel mark hopkins hotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We decided to give it a try and are glad we did. The hotel has an elegant, old San Francisco feel. We had a view of Grace Cathedral from our bedroom. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The Big 4 is a beautiful bar and restaurant, classic 1926, with historical photos, dark wood, and brass fixtures. The staff was attentive and helpful. We will definitely return.

Room tip: Executive rooms are spacious.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RebeccaD2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear RebeccaD,

Thank you so much for your Five Star review! We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your "large, clean and comfortable" room with a view, and also that you felt and enjoyed the classic San Francisco spirit of our beautiful Hotel, including our Big 4 Restaurant and Bar. As you wrote, the Big 4 is "Classic 1926" with woodwork hand-carved by master artisans from Europe (and also some delicious food and drink). There is no higher praise than your kind words that our staff was "attentive and helpful" and that you will definitely return. Please do so soon! We greatly look forward to welcoming you back.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

An elegant, but not pretentious, hotel located atop Nob Hill across from Grace Cathedral and lovely little park. At check-in, received an upgraded room with a sitting area and spacious closets. There was a mini-fridge in the room and everything seemed clean and well kept. The restaurant on the hotel's ground floor, the Big 4, has a cool vibe from the brass, dark wood, and dim lighting.

The staff were universally friendly and eager to help whenever needed.

Although this Nob Hill location is very safe and within walking distance of many attractions, because it is atop a very steep hill you will get a workout anytime you opt to walk in any direction.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Constructive_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletHuntington, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Constructive_Summer,

It is such a pleasure to read that you greatly enjoyed every aspect of your stay at The Scarlet Huntington, including our Big 4 Restaurant. My Team and I are grateful for your Five Star rating, and especially for your nod as a top luxury hotel that is "elegant, but not pretentious." Our Staff members are genuine, and truly want our guests to know that we appreciate you and want to make your time with us special, every stay. "Universally friendly and eager to help" is exactly what we aim for! For your next stay, though, please remember that this applies also to our our House Car driver Ursula, who will be more than happy to fetch you for a complimentary Cadillac ride up the Hill when you would rather glide than walk! Thank you very much, and please do come back to us again soon.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

If you have been to the Drake in Chicago, you’ll understand the vibe. Built in 1924, it has been maintained and furnished to keep its personality. If you like feeling like Gatsby, it’s great. Staff is efficient and friendly. The restaurant is slightly pricey for breakfast, but busy in the evening. The location at the top of Nob Hill can be a challenge. If you like to walk, can’t go more than a block or two before extremely steep streets. Few stores or restaurants close by. Pet peeve is all analog TV—seems to happen a lot in California. For those that love the character of older hotels, it does not disappoint.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Artemus_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Director of Rooms at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Artemus_Gordon,

Thank you for choosing the Scarlet Huntington during your recent visit to San Francisco! We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our “Gatsby” style and ambiance! The Scarlet Huntington is a Grand Dame hotel and still has a lot of the original 1920’s grandeur from the day it was build! Our Big 4 Restaurant and bar certainly contributes enhancing our old school San Francisco charm which many of our loyal guests and Nob Hill neighbors really enjoy! We are located on top of Nob Hill which is only four blocks away from Union Square and three blocks from the iconic Chinatown District. The main benefit is that we offer some of the most spectacular views of the City and you don’t even need a room on a high floor for that! We are also very fortunate to have the famous Cable Car run right in front of our hotel for fast and easy access to Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf. We all look forward welcoming you back on a future trip to our beautiful City!

Sincerely,

Jeroen Buiks
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband was in town for GDC and hotel prices were unbelievable for that week. We booked on Hotwire and received a booking at this hotel. When we arrived, we were very pleased with selection. Our room was huge and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable and it was a very nice stay. We unfortunately had to move hotels at the end of the week to the Marriott Marquis and our experience wasn’t the same, we missed the Huntington. We definitely plan on staying there again on our next trip.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Director of Rooms at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear wordsneeded,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the Scarlet Huntington San Francisco on TripAdvisor! We really love it when guests are mentioning that they will definitely stay with us again in the future because they had such a great time! This is by far the best compliment we can get and the team will love reading your review about us! We’re glad that you were not disappointed when you found out that your accommodations were made for our hotel. We hope welcoming you back again soon when travels bring you to San Francisco. Next time try contacting us directly because booking through Hotwire may not guarantee your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jeroen Buiks
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

What a luxurious hotel starting with warm greetings from the doorman to the smiling face at reception,checkin was easy and our luggage delivered to our room.Our room was amazing from the super comfortable bed to the luxurious fluffy towels,loved loved loved the decor of our room.Staff were extremely professional and friendly I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a friendly luxurious experience

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank KerryC527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Director of Rooms at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Kerry C,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay at the Scarlet Huntington San Francisco! We’re so glad to hear that our team members all made you feel welcome and well taken care off. We look forward sharing your experience with the team because we can assure you that everyone sincerely appreciates all guests who take the time sharing their experience with us. We all look forward welcoming you back soon when visiting San Francisco and our beautiful Nob Hill neighborhood!

Sincerely,

Jeroen Buiks
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews