We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #16 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Aiea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The staff was wonderful, and the restaurant was magnificent. My co-worker injured her arm while at the hotel, and the staff couldn't be more caring. They were all genuinely concerned about her well-being, and kept asking how she was doing throughout our stay. They have a courtesy car from 8-4 on weekdays to take you to nearby locations, which was very convenient. On Feb. 16th, President Obama was speaking in the building next to the hotel, which meant that the roads were closed around the hotel. The staff called us on our cell phone to let us know when the roads opened again, so we could return to the hotel. Their guest service is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    391
    100
    43
    24
See reviews for
176
688
66
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary in Nov 2010. My husband broke his toe on the bed frame, which has no toe space under it. The staff could have cared less and seemed more concerned that we didn't sue them than that he was OK after our all night trip to UCSF for xrays, etc. The rooms are nice and the spa there is GREAT, wonderful pool, and the spa staff is very, very helpful and friendly, but they are not hired by the Huntington. The bar is fun, old style dark wood and nice staff. The hotel front desk staff is generally very, very, very snobby, but the doormen are very nice. Good location for a walk as the park across the street is nice plus you can visit the Fairmont (though their tea is not as well-appointed as the Ritz, a ca ride away!). Would look elsewhere but if I could not find what I wanted might consider the Huntington again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I hadn't stayed in the Huntington since the mid-1980's, when it was the go-to place in
San Francisco. It has always been old school, and remains so to this day. It is understated,
and has the best situation of any San Francisco hotel on top of Nob Hill. It has spectacular
views from the top floor of the whole harbor. The staff are very solicitous and fawning.

On the other hand, there are some quirks you just don't expect. For example, the toilet paper
holder--most hotels do with a simple bar on which the TP rolls. Not the Huntington. Remember junior high school, where the roll was on a spring-loaded roller that gave resistance to any pull? That was because they didn't want you wasting paper or "decorating" the gym with festoons for paper. But in a hotel? It makes for a very frustrating experience. Likewise, the (many times refurbished) room interiors are not what you would expect at $375 a night--a bit like Ethan Allen on sale. The most annoying thing was the speed of the internet and the laborious procedure to log on. Most hotels these days just ask your last name and room number and you are off and going. Most luxury hotels include the internet. Not the Huntington. Room service is slow, but at least accurate and the food is still warm when it arrives.

Still, compared to the Ritz and other first rate San Francisco hotels, it is up there. I don't think it is quite the go-to place it used to be, and with a little greater attention to detail it could be back, but it needs that kind of attention. Living a bit on its laurels, I would say.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitcasepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Me and my wife we stayed at this hotel for a week during our exhibition at Macworld.
The distance of the hotel from the city center is short but it's up the hill and down the hill trips.

The rooms are medium size. They are outdated. The only new thing in our room was the bathroom. When you use a toilet at night you can wakeup your spouse. Walls between rooms are very thin, you could hear the TV shows that other guests are watching at night.

Spa: I love spas and have been to many of them around the world. This spa has some nice equipment (heated pillows and beds) but the person that was giving me the massage had cold hands, tried to ask me if I am ok every 5 minutes which was very annoying.
I would not recommend the spa its just not worth the price that they ask for it.

Gym: Small, oh so small. There is nothing more to say.

Jacuzzi: Always occupied.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I loved the Huntington. On arrival we were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a huge suite with a panoramic view of the city from the bedroom and living room, gorgeous marble bathroom and lovely large tapestry in the entrance hall. A great place to chill after a days sightseeing! The hotel is very charming, the service is excellent and the location is walking distance from good restaurants like the Nob Hill cafe. We also used the spa which was great and found breakfast to be solid although not spectacular. It's not cheap but it's well worth it if you like us you like hotels with real character.

Room Tip: Booked using AMEX FHR Programme and got a great upgrade which made our stay extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0el_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $373 - $786
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing