We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I am the owner of a four star Texas boutique Hotel. I vacationed with my family last week at the Mark Hopkins and cannot say enough great things about the Hotel. It is a beautiful Hotel with a rich history! I highly recommend visiting Sonny at the Top of the Mark Lounge for the best sunset in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainStreetFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,374 of 2,588 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Drinks at the Top of the Mark, was the plan - the hotel's top attraction, turned out to be lots of fun. Brunch at the Top of the Mark, was a surprise, and ohhh, was a happy, wonderful surprise. Brunch rocked! We were upgraded to a lovely view room. Everything from the spa bath to the Frette sheets was superb. Excellent Nob Hill Hotel; excellent location, service, room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KabukiCondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I'd rate this as 4.5, but it doesn't have a pool and charges for internet. The welcome was excellent which is always a good way to start. Overall the service was superb. My room was large, comfortable, well appointed, air-conditioned, quiet and with nice views. Although I had free WiFi, I understand this is not standard; if so, that is not acceptable at the price of a room. This should be changed! Top of the Mark provides great views of the city and bay along with reasonable food and jazz. The drinks are a bit pricey but it is worth visiting for views both day and night. Not totally convinced about the convenience of the location. Nob Hill is nice and well served by cable cars, but at $6 for a single journey the bill runs up with trips to and from downtown. The walk is not too bad but the streets are very steep. Going down pulls on the muscles, coming up is a cardiorespiratory workout. However I'd not let put me off staying again when I go back to SF at the end of the year. I quite accept that the cost puts this out of a holiday stay, but for a business trip it is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godfrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hotel is is a short walk to the major shopping area. After walking out of hotel, I can see ocean before me and on my right hand side. Walking distance to China Town and to financial district. Here you have calm of residential area and convenience of being in the center of all business activities. The Top of Mark restaurant has live music after 9 pm. People are dancing in happy music. I can't think of any better place to stay other than this one in terms of location. Definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyvaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I went to San Fransisco, Oh what a place I absolutely loved it, riding up and down the hill on the sideplate of their trams, great, great, great. And the Mark Hopkins hotel, well what can I say complete luxury with outstanding views over San Fransisco, cant wait to go there again. There is also a great little sandwich bar over the road from the Mark Hopkins and they sell their Deli food and sandwiches off cheap after 5.00PM, they are yummy. Fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: They are all good, but dont know if they swimming pool or sauna but I had to answer questions o9n Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,566 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,056 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,411 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $223 - $952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing