We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 206
USD 182
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 271
USD 240
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 334/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
USD 286
USD 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 256
USD 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zephyr(San Francisco)
USD 301
USD 280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
USD 453
USD 343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 271
USD 239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 380/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 296
USD 214
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
USD 512
USD 271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,718)
Filter reviews
2,718 results
Traveller rating
1,093
965
413
167
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,093
965
413
167
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnob hillmark restaurantcable cargrace cathedralhistoric hotelunion squarethe club loungetop floorcalifornia streetper dayhotel guestsan older hotelan upgradewater pressurethe golden gate bridgecorner roomvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,488 - 1,493 of 2,718 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I went to San Fransisco, Oh what a place I absolutely loved it, riding up and down the hill on the sideplate of their trams, great, great, great. And the Mark Hopkins hotel, well what can I say complete luxury with outstanding views over San Fransisco, cant wait to go there again. There is also a great little sandwich bar over the road from the Mark Hopkins and they sell their Deli food and sandwiches off cheap after 5.00PM, they are yummy. Fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: They are all good, but dont know if they swimming pool or sauna but I had to answer questions o9n Tripadivisor or could not proceed, sorry,
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Not sure where to begin. Place makes me feel like I'm gamed at every angle. $59 a night for valet parking (no self park offered!) $12 per day for internet did multiple speed test and it NEVER was over 50Kbps! I was waiting to hear the screech of the modem connecting! I finally just ended up ust tethering to my cellphone. I think I was the only one in the hotel under the age of 70. I wish I had read all the reviews before booking here. Gotta laugh at people calling this place elegant! I guess some peoples idea of elegance an indian casino!
I will say a couple good things. Location is great, they have good coffee in the rooms and the shampoo and lotion are decent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsutton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear gsutton57,

Thank you for your review of our property. It is good to know that you liked the location of our hotel and found our rooms to be comfortable. However, I am sorry that you were unhappy with the parking situation and if the Internet connectivity affected your stay. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you and rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is an exceptional hotel in the IHG chains and has quite a bit of history. Rooms are exceptional and the beds just put you into the best sleep. Overall hotel is very nice and located in a great location in proximity to the city - pretty much a walk or trolley anywhere you want to go.

Top of the Mark Lounge provides some of the best views of the city - as well, a whole lot of history. This was the same lounge that many WWII soliders visited prior to getting shipped out; gives you kind a weird feeling knowing they had the same view before they left and many didn't come back.

Lovely overall and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Any one is good though I'd recommend the upper floors for the view and easy access to Top of the Mark.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here recently for close to a week, on a combo business / added pleasure days trip.
It was our second stay at the property, as we liked it the year before.

We are definitely ready to move on now though and try somewhere else. While the hotel is clean, the beds appear to be incredibly old. We had to move rooms part way through our stay, as the first mattress was very saggy & uncomfortable. The second one wasn't much better, but we managed until the end of the trip.

Another thing that irks me, is that the mini snack counter in the room is incredibly overpriced. For a hotel with no onsite store, it would be refreshing for weary travelers to be able to open the snack counter without being 'robbed'. And, some of the snacks were grossly expired.

The only restaurant on site is the Top of the Mark, and they don't serve a full dinner. Plan to go elsewhere for dinner.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in rooms on the front side of the hotel. They are noisy from street traffic unless you wear earplugs at night. Not sure if other rooms would be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minitraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear minitraveler2,

Thank you for your feedback. It is regrettable you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us another chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins at Nob Hill is a stately, elegant hotel with great service, classic appointments, a "peak" location, and fantasticly comfortable beds.

Some parts of the hotel are a little tired (I'm always a little grossed out by scarred woodwork that's been repainted over and over - but this IS an older hotel so it's really not indicative of anything untoward...) and I wish these folks would provide free wifi. On the other hand, the free coffee in the lobby in the morning is a nice perk.

For a fancy dinner nearby, try the Big Four for live piano. For something more casual, go to Nob Hill Café. They're both walkable WITHOUT taking on 'the hill'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews