We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Great Neck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location, very comfortable bed”
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a good location near union square. It has a cable car station right outside the entrance so getting to any place in the city is quick and convinient. The beds are absolutely terrific..its like sleeping on a cloud.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.
Booked for 140$/night on hotwire.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank YossiRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    886
    373
    154
    74
See reviews for
439
953
135
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Superb Hotel on Knob Hill. Stunning view over the City and Bay especially from the 19th floor 'Top of the Mark'. Breakfast is a bit on the expensive side (maybe not for this class of Hotel)but worth it for the view. Bay views a little obsructed due to other tall buildings. If you plan to go to the Top of the Mark in the evening - go early as they fill up quickly and you have to wait for others to leave. Internet access no free and expensive!

Room Tip: Best rooms are those higher up - suggest 12 pluss! with a view towards the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Hynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Mark Hopkins is such a great location but the hotel needs renovation especially the lobby and the bathrooms. But the rooms are comfortable However, the worse part is the Top of the Mark. This use to have great food and the views are amazing. One of the best places to watch the fireworks for the 4th of July. Now the Service is horrible and food is just terrible. Is is very sad. Just go over to the Fairmont for breakfast which is just across the street. Their brunch is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Chiili,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodations as well as our convenient location. I apologize you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. It is also regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received from our restaurant. I have taken note of your comments regarding our lobby and bathrooms. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We only stayed here for one night pre-cruise and this is an opinion based on the few hours we were in the hotel. It is certainly an imposing building in a wonderful location. We were cruising with Regent Seven Seas and their staff were at the hotel to look after us (figuratively speaking). The reception staff were very helpful on check-in and later in providing a map and advice about getting to Union Square. The room was of medium size without any decent views from the window. Our view consisted of rooftops and backs of other buildings! The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom very well appointed. The room itself was the usual bland international hotel style that we have experienced all over the world. However we were jet lagged and only there for one night and the room provided all we needed for our short stay.

The Top of the Mark dining room/bar has fantastic views over San Francisco. The food was good, so was the service. Less good was the 'gatekeeper'. Other reviewers have noted the long wait for a table. Our request for a table for two was met with a 'we don't have any, you will have to wait'. How long? 'Probably 20 minutes, maybe half an hour'. Two other people offered to share a table and suddenly the ice melted. Quite a crowd built up in the lobby while we were having our meal.

Breakfast was in the Top of the Mark. Usual buffet selection - no egg station but the food was good and well presented.

Although our stay at Mark Hopkins was very short we did enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We booked the Mark Hopkins hotel for the San Francisco portion of our honeymoon. The location is prefect on Nob Hill, close to Union Square shopping, China Town, great restaurants and amazing views. The view from out hotel was worth the price, and room was well appointed. Service was good at the hotel, the staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the city. The cleaning staff were great, I saw first hand that they bring each room clean glasses and coffee mugs, they don't just wash them in the sink like most hotels. Our cleaning staff always refilled our coffee station. What was disappointing about the hotel was the lack of free Wi-Fi. I can't remember the last time I stayed at a hotel that did not have free Wi-Fi. Also, booking over their website did not work and I ended up having to call the 1-800 number to make my reservation. Overall, the price is worth it if you are looking for a hotel with a great view in a prime location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAFOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,909 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,531 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,176 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $269 - $675
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing