We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unforgettable :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unforgettable :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Probably a slightly biaist review as my partner proposed to me on the last night of our stay so we've been on cloud 9.

Service: bottle of celebratory champagne arrived promptly and was delicious

Top of the Mark bar/restaurant: nice cocktails ($14) and tasty appetisers (we never ate a full meal there but from what we had it was good). Surprisingly casual bar so no need to dress up. Sat night a live band was playing pretty fresh and current music.

Rooms: comfortable and clean. Didn't feel as luxurious as the Inter Con in Manila but still a really great room.

Location: amazing, safe neighbourhood, close to many tourist attractions. Hotel even has a complimentary town car service you can use (pre-arrange with concierge).

Wifi: terrible I'm afraid - didn't work on our iPhones. Spent 40 min overall to IT support. Ended up getting a refund as it didn't work properly.

Overall: we'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank czaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    851
    350
    146
    72
See reviews for
413
920
128
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Upon arrival and to the moment of departure, The Mark Hopkins Hotel is simply, First Rate in every way. You are cheerfully greeted by every staff member, every need is met, almost anticipated.

The down side is one must expect to pay rather dearly for this, so be prepared. $50+ per night for Valet Parking seems a bit stiff, as does the price of in room beverages and snacks, so I recommend they simply be avoided. This is San Francisco luxury, so expect to pay for it.

I would certainly recommend this Hotel to friends and I would enjoy staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the highest floor possible. Slightly less "street noise"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaShramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed at the Mark Hopkins for three nights and from the moment at check in to our departure the service was impeccable. I was greeted by the assistant manager on arrival and given his business card. I had a room upgrade to a large suite and the view was spectacular. The hotel is a deco hotel and would not be to everyone's liking but the general feel was superb. It was my wedding anniversary whilst there and we received a special chocolate plate from the hotel and a bottle of champagne and this was above and beyond what we had expected. This kind of hotel is why I have been a loyal brand customer and they recognised my loyalty by offering a great service.

They only criticism I have was our visit to the top of the mark bar where we did get a nice view but were sat underneath the a/c which was freezing and then no one came to serve us. I did decide to leave after this because it was too cold and not being served, there was no point sitting there uncomfortable.

This did not detract from the fact both my wife and I had an amazing time at the hotel and would recommend it wholeheartedly

Room Tip: Get high room floor the views are spectacular across San Francisco
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I think the Mark Hopkins has lost its sparkle. The rooms are small with old furniture. However, they still keep the rooms clean. Service (especially Housekeeping) was really bad. Took them more than the usual time to respond. Area around the hotel is very dark at night. Not much restaurants in the area. You will have to go further down going to Union Square.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaynte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
yaynte,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

A good hotel, but some improvement needed. The good points: friendly service, clean room (if you don't inspect too much), nice little touches (slippers, umbrella, apples at reception). Areas for improvement: mattress sags and should be replaced, windows are thin and you can hear sirens and the like throughout the night and early in the morning--double panes would be nice, walls are thin too and you can hear neighbours and people in the hallway, bathroom is a bit small with not much counter space.

Not a big deal, but there are only 2 elevators, so the wait time can be quite long sometimes.

However, for a few nights stay, the hotel was good enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelBug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
ATravelBug23,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#47 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#13 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $262 - $697
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing