We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedlygreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This B&B represented superb value; knowledgeable host; terrific room; great ambience and a top location. We had a great time there. I can't think of a critical remark that affected our stay. However, beware: there are shared bathrooms (which in our cosseted 21st century lifestyle, can be a drag); and light sleepers might dislike the traffic noise. However, the traffic dies down after about 9.30, and the good news is that public transport is electric trolleybuses, which are quiet.
Other commentators think the location is a bit distant from attractions, but we found this not so, as the trolleys run a frequent service to all parts of town. $2 buys you a trip to the centre of the city and to the wharf.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Wonderful, over the top Victorian decor...... yet homely and comfortable. Staff were welcoming (after a long tiring flight) and extremely helpful and friendly. Sunday Brunch was fabulous, other breakfasts a bit plainer but still a good start to the day. Our bedroom had a 4 poster bed, Victorian bathroom splendour with very modern and effective plumbing - though no television which we were surprised about, but free wifi in the lounge (and in our room which was first floor). Location some distance from downtown but nearby buses got us there easily, and it was part of the experience. Tip for a fun daytrip - hire bikes from the Blazing Saddles bike hire place in Fisherman's Wharf and cycle across the Golden Gate Bridge for lunch in Sausalito (8 gentle miles) and return by ferry.

Room Tip: All the first floor rooms looked good - ours was slightly dark, the best looked to be the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifermkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Tivoli has all the quirks and charms you'd expect staying in such an old building, fabulous decor and fantastic service - the champagne brunch on a Saturday is yummy! If the mattress in the Isadora had been better I would have given it 5/5 for definite! Really helpful With information about everything - great cheese and wine served daily at 4... Love this!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armyofangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Staff is absolutelly amazingly friendly. We felt at home in the second we came in this B&B.
Accommodation is more than great. Building and rooms are old but clean and nicely victorian.
Parking was easy and free on the street.
Area was safe but quite far from the Warf and Center. (we used taxi about 15$ and walked; approx.1hr walk to the Warf)
Street might be noisy for the traffic if you are staying in the basement floor. Take earplugs with you.
Just a few blocks away is Alamo Square. You dont want to miss seeing that!
If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask staff about it they'll help and give recommendations.
We'll come here again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1011S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed 5 nights in September 2011 and the stay was fully to my expectations. Wonderful rooms, great beds, kind and helpful staff. Location is great near Alamo Square and just takes 10 minutes with the bus to go downtown. I would have been even happier if breakfast but of course I knew that before I went.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $220 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing