We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location”
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nice staff, the room and the bathroom were very clean.
I really loved staying there and would go back.
The location is amazing, near to Van Ness Avenue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 317 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very nice hostel/hotel and even better when you look at the price. Clean and the staff very good. Only problem is the music rehersal space below the building thats noisy till late at night.you can't get an early night here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gghygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Accommodating staff, safe, decent beds. Well kept and one of the cheapest rooms you'll find in SF. Vertigo is just round the corner for a fun filled night of music and dance.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank BelvillaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I absolutely LOVE this hostel. The location is perfect since it is right by polk street. Polk Street is where many locals hang out and it is the best spot to go bar hopping or go to a nice restaurant if you want to escape the tourisy stuff for a bit. My friend and I went to during Spring Break and on our last night in San Fran, we went to a nice restaurant then bar hopping afterward. Just be prepare to bring LOTS of cash since most bars only accept cash.

The only downside to the hostel is the band playing at night but that didn't really bother us too much. My friend and I got a private bedroom for two. The hostel also helps you call a airport shuttle and it's only $15.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guiltlesspleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012 in a double room with a shared bathroom. It was quite and nice. The room was nice and had a TV and Fridge. The bathroom was always clean and only once did I have to wait for a turn. Most of the staff were nice and helpful, one was not. We did some laundry whilst here which was about $3 to wash and dry a huge load. The location was great, within walking distance of everywhere. The area seemed safe at night and the front door was only acessibly by room key. This was by far the cheapest room we could find in San Francisco and we had no problems with it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlotteG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#172 of 230 in San Francisco
880 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#190 of 230 in San Francisco
661 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#195 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,387 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#176 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $87 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music City Hotel/Hostel offers the best combination of service, location, and cleanliness for affordable Hotel and Hostel accommodations in San Francisco. Be energized by the past, present and future of music in the city while at Music City Hotel, a tribute to the robust musical history of the Bay Area, and dedicated towards nurturing its present. This is a one of a kind artistic and cultural experience you don't want to miss. Located in the vibrant Polk Gulch neighborhood, dozens of varied and excellent food, beverage, and entertainment options are within steps of Music City Hotel. Tourist attractions and neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Haight Ashbury, and the Mission District are all located either within walking distance or a short bus ride away thanks to our convenient and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing