We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great San Fran experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great San Fran experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are so grateful that we had opportunity to enjoy the stay in your beautiful place, enjoy delicious gourmet breakfasts on a festively and tastefully decorated table. Most of all we enjoyed talking to you and your awesome guests. We definitely learned a lot from you, dear friend. It is inspiring to talk to people who know so much and care so much. We did feel like we were home, and it was painful to leave. The orchids and fresh cut flowers, the art decorating the place are still in front of our eyes. It all creates this unique and magical experience: Inn on Castro. Thank you! Inessa and Dan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    117
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
315
131
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I had been reluctant about staying at a B&B until our stay at the Inn on Castro. The location was ideal for walking and public transportation. The room was very comfortable and the view out the bay window was beautiful. It was a joy to wake up to a delicious breakfast served by our host. At the communal table, we were able to meet other guests from around the country and the globe. I would highly recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were here for about six days. Could not be happier with the place and all that we got for the price. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are truly outstanding. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful, even taking the time to sit down and orient us with the area and the city on a provided map - this was my first trip to SF.
Also, the place is about 25 steps from the corner of Castro and Market, the heart of the Castro and the F line, which will take you right down Market Street to the Embarcedero (popular tourist destinations). We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My friend and I just returned from 5 nights here. We were overwhelmed with what a fantastic place this was to stay, and we both would recommend it to anyone wanting quality accomodation in the heart of Castro.
We wanted to be in Castro, and we couldn't have been any closer. The inn is ideally placed for public transport and taxis too.
Our room (The Brown Room) was really clean and comfortable with a mini fridge full of complimentary soft drinks, and a lovely brandy decanter on the side. The bathroom had a nice shower with red hot water and high quality tissues. Towels and linen were changed every day.
Jan (the owner) is a delighful Man, who puts on a superb breakfast, where you can sit and meet other guests, or chat to Jan about his vast knowledge of the city or any other subject for that matter. He's an interesting chap to chat to in general.
I am so glad I chose the Inn on Castro over slightly cheaper accomodation, as I feel its worth every penny.
I will definitely chose Inn on Castro for my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I second the thoughts of other reviewers -- the location is great, the breakfast is incredible, the rooms are comfortable and include free bottled water, juice, and hooch. The wireless can be a bit spotty, but my rooms had ethernet cables as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the rooms in the basement -- not enough light makes it difficult to wake up. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $179 - $298
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing