We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience SS Jeremiah O'Brien
from USD 30.00
More Info
from USD 35.00
More Info
from USD 105.00
More Info
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
237
116
26
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
116
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room liberty ship self guided tour uss pampanito these ships working ship during wwii great ship steam engine below deck living history piece of history o brien museum area normandy invasion normandy landings brave men
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Located at Fishermans Wharf and next to the USS Pampanito it makes an impressive presence . Its a working vessel and apparently sailed to Normandy in the last few years .
Its a self guided tour with recorded messages via a push button console situated throughout the ship , unfortunately several were not working and some I couldnt find .The system on the submarine with a small audio device was better Access to the holds is limited to the front two which house an open area with looped tv program and a static display of the Normandy Invasion as well as a shop which was closed on the day of my visit . Whilst you can access the living areas you cant actually enter any of the cabins , the engine room is definitely worth a visit as is the small bridge area .
With only one screw and limited speed makes you realise how vunerable the crew were .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank thetoothdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Great place to see. You can walk there from the center of Fishermans Wharf in 10 minutes. It is very huge and impressive

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank piotrh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We had never been on a liberty ship and really enjoyed the ship but the best part was the engine room. Anyone that loves motors or boats will enjoy it. And anyone that is a titanic fan will recognize it from the movie. The engine room was closed to the public without an escort the day we were there but that worked out great because one of the volunteers working aboard the ship gave us a tour. I wish I remembered his name because he was fascinating. He had served in on a liberty ship for several years during the war and had wonderful, interesting stories about life back then. If you go aboard be sure to ask the volunteers questions because it added a lot to the experience and it won't be long and we won't have any of these hero's left with us to share history with us.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

It was neat to see this liberty ship. We were able to see a lot of the engine room and it was insane to see how big the pistons in the engine are!
Wish the gift shop would have been open though.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We were disappointed, but maybe we did not understand the history, it was busy though. Only go if you are in the area.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank BagpussSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews