We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fact that nature reclaimed a territory- amazing”
Review of Pier 39

Pier 39
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 95.00*
and up
PIER 39 Attraction Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From amazing views and a sea of sea lions to chowder bread bowls and California wines, your visit to San Francisco starts at PIER 39. Kick off your visit by exploring two levels of dining, entertainment, shopping and attractions, all surrounded by unbeatable views of the city and the bay. Take it from the world famous sea lions: a visit to San Francisco starts at The PIER.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Don’t miss this place - we ended up visiting it twice since it was so great to see the mammals sunbathing. Great stroll for an hour or so

Thank Airsealands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We are so glad you had a chance to visit us more than once during your stay in San Francisco! Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea lions"
in 4,022 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 495 reviews
"street performers"
in 346 reviews
"seafood"
in 348 reviews
"tourist spot"
in 117 reviews
"clam chowder"
in 216 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 159 reviews
"walk around"
in 160 reviews
"alcatraz island"
in 131 reviews
"the golden gate bridge"
in 282 reviews
"carousel"
in 417 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 599 reviews
"tourists"
in 824 reviews
"bay"
in 880 reviews
"pontoon"
in 119 reviews
"aquarium"
in 518 reviews
"sf"
in 664 reviews
Filter

1,380 - 1,384 of 19,285 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This tourist trap is indeed crowded due to so many shops and restaurants on top of each other, but still fun. There’s something for everyone.

Thank LloydDob89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor, and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

After doing the Alcatraz tour, we were trying to find a place to regroup and figure out how we would spend the rest of the day. We saw Pier 39 and were looking for a place to sit down. After not really finding anything since it was raining outside, we finally went into the California Welcome Center office (second floor) which was really helpful. While there, I remembered that there are sea lions on one of the piers. Turns out it was that pier! We asked one of the employees where to find them and he pointed the way (plus gave me a great recommendation on where to find good dim sum in China Town — as we weren’t sure where to go). Once we got outside we realized we wouldn’t have missed the sea lions anyway, as there are several signs. Basically if you’re facing the pier / water ... they’re to the left of the pier. Also, if you’re at the front of the pier (near the road, not the water), you’ll see the Sea Lion sculpture ... and the sea lions are straight ahead, behind the statue, on wood docks floating in the water. There are two ways to view the sea lions — at water level or on the second level. The best view is on the second level, plus it is less crowded. It was cool being able to see the Sea Lions, Alcatraz, and the Golden Gate Bridge — all in the same view. I took a lot of pictures and video (which is unusual for me), but they’re really loud and cute. As far as history goes, the sea lions showed up uninvited back in 1989 after an earthquake and never left. Since they’re wild animals, please do not feed them — as they need to retain the ability to hunt for their own food. Having said that ... there must be a lot of fish in the area as they’re pretty fat.

Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We're glad you enjoyed time with the beloved sea lions during your stay in San Francisco! Until your next visit to PIER 39, look in on them anytime with the Sea Lion Webcam on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for more fun by the bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

So much to do and see amazing restaurants amazing views out on to the water shopping for everyone and all that tourist stuff that we all love to buy great place and very clean which was something we all noticed.

Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor! We're so glad you enjoyed dining and the beautiful bay views while you were here, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Isit this if you want to relax after a day of walking. The place is fulll of cofee and food :) please be aware that is it expensive!

Thank Worst Come T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We're glad to hear you enjoyed a morning stroll and coffee with us at PIER 39! We hope you had a wonderful stay in San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 39 also viewed

 

Been to Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing