We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Don't even think about going anywhere else in Bar Harbor. The rooms are very clean. Our bathroom was large and modern. Unbeatable views from everywhere. Extremely pleasant owners and staff! Very peaceful location that is about a 5 minute drive from downtown. We'll definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Top floors have decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
268
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Great place to spend a couple of Autumn days. Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park
look great at this time of year. And the Inn at Bay Ledge is a great choice to stay.
You luv it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This inn is amazing! The innkeepers are great to talk with about Maine and the attractions near and throughout the Maine area. The food is wonderful for breakfast and there is so much! From the homemade blueberry muffins and banana bread to the egg quiche - the food is amazing! Our room was so beautiful and clean! My husband and I will definitely return to the Inn! Thanks Jack and Jean for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our brief was simple. We're busy New Yorkers who spend way too much time running around and way too little time sleeping (alongside the noise of traffic and sirens). We needed to get away from it all and do some serious relaxing. We first settled on Maine, then settled on Acadia for a week of being outdoors, getting some exercise, eating our body weight in lobster and spending as much time as possible staring at beautiful scenery, comfortable in the knowledge that the Blackberry is switched off on the dresser.

After a fair amount of searching The Inn at Bay Ledge seemed the most unique and "hidden" option. It even looked from the pictures like there might be NO TVs IN THE BEDROOMS! (This is a big plus.) After an exhausting drive punctuated by food and drink stops as the the scenery got prettier and the traffic got thinner, we turned up late on a Monday night and ventured in to the Inn in the dark. It was SILENT. (Again, this was unbelievably welcome.) What this meant was that we woke up after the best night's sleep in weeks and then got the chance to take the place in.

It's a dream. We wondered out on to the porch to see an array of comfy chairs, all facing the PHENOMENAL view out over the bay. The smell of fresh coffee was drifting out from the sunroom. We wondered in to meet Jack, the almost stereotypical Inn keeper, his dog Woody and his lovely smiling wife Jean. They offered us fresh coffee, said the breakfast would be ready in 30 mins, and in the meanwhile "Take your coffee down to the point. You'll like it"

Like it? I think we almost cried. Jack has built two chairs and a fenced in area (replete with Star Spangled Banner, fluttering in the wind) on to a rocky outcrop that has 180 deg views around the whole bay. The chairs face east, so we had the newborn sun warming us up as we sat and sipped coffee in near silence, bar the chirping birds and lapping waves, looking out over sea, boats and forest-covered hills. We were disturbed by the sound of a jet of air and water being shot into the air, and looked over to see a small group of porpoise bouncing across the bay. Magical.

This was followed by a superb and full breakfast (I am a breakfast lover - this was the perfect start to the day) accompanied by Jack's entertaining and informative guide to Bar Harbor. We then milled in and out of the Inn all week - in between cycling, hiking, kayaking and visiting the awesome restaurants - all within a 20 min drive of the Inn - we WANTED to go back to the Inn for a lie-down on the hammock (also overlooking the bay), or just a read on the veranda. We left feeling refreshed, relaxed and very well looked after.

The only thing I would say about this place is that it is very definitely an inn; not a hotel. Do not go expecting a TV in your room, flawless WiFi, room service, a short walk to restaurants, faceless service, large breakfast buffet or being miles away from other guests. However, if you want peace, the personal touch and a truly unique and authentic local experience, this is it. There is nowhere else nearby that looked like it could lay a finger on this as a place to stay in or near Acadia. I can't wait to go back. And I think it's actually great value for money.

Oh, and the top three places you MUST eat: Burning Tree, Town Hill Bistro and the absolute number one food experience in Maine: Thurston's Lobster Pound!

Room Tip: I would prob avoid the smallest room; and the cottages look amazing from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is our third stay at the Lodge and we have enjoyed it even more each time! Our room overlooked the scenic Frenchman's Bay and at dawn, we could see the lobster boats going by checking their traps. The location of the Lodge is ideal--quiet and scenic, but also convenient to everything you may want to see or do in the Bar Harbor area. The rooms are lovely, well kept, and comfortable. The common seating area near the dining room always has a welcoming, warm fire going in cool weather--just perfect to snuggle up in front of with afternoon tea and cookies. The hosts are totally dedicated to making your stay the most enjoyable providing the most up to date, useful tips on dining (basketful of area menus to review) and area attractions. Breakfast is delicious and attractively presented beginning with a fruit appetizer, fresh breads and/or pastries, cereals, and a hot breakfast entree. Jack and Jean are delightful hosts with wonderful, entertaining stories about the area. We love the view, private beach, and private deck overlooking the bay. A truly delightful and restful stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VF0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.6 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
6.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
7.7 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.7 km away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): $134 - $502
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing