We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown location.”
Review of The Central House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central House
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Downtown location with many shops and eating establishments near by. Although no A/C required window to be left open to allow breeze, which in turn made it very noisy in the AM. Street sweeper at 6am.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Handy11121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecentralhouse_955, Manager at The Central House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

The Central House is 124 years old and does not have central air for all rooms. We do have window mounted air conditioners for every room: however, it is usually chilly until the end of June and most guests use the room heaters at night rather than needing A/C. This year we had a mini heat-wave in May and it got above 70F for a couple of days.

We are happy to install A/C units in the window of any room before then upon request. We appologize for the unforseen discomfort and recognize that air conditioners provide welcome white noise for many.

Best wishes,

Jerry & Jaimie
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We were warmly received and allowed an early check in. Our rooms were very clean and well appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable. This B&B is centrally located to many restaurants and activities. The neighborhood is very safe to walk at any time of day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clawdegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were extremely happy with The Central House. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was the best. The room was nice with a private bath but the bed was a little uncomfortable. The large front porch was wonderful and a great place to spend a little time. There is limited parking but we were thankful for any parking in the downtown area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My wife and myself booked into the central house,As we arrived in B/H.I paid top price for what I can only say was motel standerds.the room you could not swing a cat in it,the window would not close due to a air con machine attatched to the window,I should not refer this place as a motel as in motels you get coffee and tea in your room,and also a hair dryer.As I went down stairs in the morning I found another guest looking for coffee.I walked to the end of the street and found a coffee shop.They give you a token for a place called geddys who do not open till lunchtime.I was told you can use token in bar or giftshop not true meal was so poor I forgot about it,and then tried to use in giftshop I still have the token to remind me of our stay.The last time I stayed in a place like this was at my grandmothers house forty years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank allstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

If visiting Bar Harbor, Me and you want to be in the middle of everything (within walking distance) - try the "Central House Inn" on Cottage St. Central House is an inn and does not offer breakfasts but the rooms are clean (with private baths) and the inn is a lovely old building with a huge "veranda" and multiple sitting rooms. Our room on the 1st floor was small but tastefully decorated with antiques and was comfortable (some street noise but tolerable). The price was right (especially for the Maine "High Season"). There was also a handicap-accessible room next to ours and the other rooms are upstairs. A great classic diner just a 5 min. walk down the road called "Jordan's" has fast service, very good breakfasts and good prices. There is also a bakery serving light fare across the street. The inn is just a few blocks from restaurants, pubs, shops and activity planners. Coastal Kayaks (2 doors down) offers various tours around the harbor (the 2 hr.guided tour at sunset was great) and rents bicycles. We would return to Central House anytime.
A side note - skip "Stewan's" lobster pound on West St.. Everything was greasy, fries were cold and the service was terrible. Lots of better restaurants available.

1  Thank triptoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
1 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
448 reviews
0.4 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
660 reviews
0.3 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central House

Address: 60 Cottage St, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $247 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a residence in 1887, historic Central House opened its doors to the public in 1925, making it the longest operating inn in Bar Harbor. Originally named Briarfield (for the blackberries, so emblematic of Maine summers, that still grow in our border) Central House has a history of hospitality that extends to its earliest years. Please visit our website for a brief history! Located at the center of downtown Bar Harbor, Central House enjoys easy access to restaurants, shops, waterfront, Bar Island, the Bar Harbor Shore Path, the Village Green and Island Explorer buses. Walk or bike to Acadia. Please come and enjoy our welcoming front porch, where visitors to Bar Harbor have come to relax during one hundred and thirty Maine summers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Central House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bar Harbor
The Central House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing