We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Ranked #4 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the Saltair Inn during spring break in March. The weather was unseasonably warm, so we were able to enjoy beautiful Acadia Nat'l Park and the town of Bar Harbor on foot. The hiking was wonderful, and the shops and restaurants of Bar Harbor were great too. To top it off, the breakfasts at the Saltair were excellent! The Inn is in a beautifully restored historic home filled with a mixture of antique pieces and comfortable contemporary furniture as well. The bed was excellent, and the linens were high quality. The Inn is in easy walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor, numerous restaurants, and plenty of shopping. If you go in the off-season as we did, some of the shops and cafes will be closed, but enough were open that we had plenty of choices. The inn keepers were fun, nice and very helpful! I definitely recommend a stay at the Saltair Inn,

Room Tip: The Master Suite is a superb room! The suite is huge, with a king-size bed, two fireplaces, and a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairie_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
470
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My family and I spent a few days in Bar Harbor, Maine and while we were there, we stayed at this hotel. I can honestly say that the people running this B&B really have a good thing going. They were incredibly accommodating, and they went to great lengths to make sure that our stay was as comfortable as humanly possible. The hotel is, as quoted by the manager, a stone's throw away from the water. She wasn't kidding. It was only a short, few minute long walk to where the harbor was. This is where we spent the majority of our time, when not staying at our hotel.
The employees at this B&B made many good suggestions for places to visit during our stay. They really gave us the feeling that they wanted us to thoroughly enjoy our trip and to admire all the natural beauty that we were surrounded by. The rooms in this B&B were delightful. They were decorated in a very homey style and were warm and welcoming. Definitely a spot looking into if you're planning a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank churrisstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We usually rent a house for a week when we visit Bar Harbor/Acadia, but this December just hubby and I took a quick trip north. Not much open this time of year and in our search for a place to stay stumbled across Saltair Inn. This place is awesome. The proprietors, Kristi and Matt, are the perfect hosts - friendly, informative, not too pushy - and make one feel very comfortable and welcome. The B&B is beautifully decorated. The rooms are nicely appointed, some with gas fireplaces (which was nice for us in December!) and if you can, get a room facing the ocean - this is waterfront property! The Acadia Suite is exceptional and roomy with two fireplaces. Breakfasts are tasty and Kristi easily accommodates dietary needs. The evening snack of homemade cookies or whoopie pies are also not to be missed. With just a few blocks to the heart of town, I can't think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikermartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Saltair. Two days in 2011 connected to two days in 2012. Although of course different from our home which we love, Saltair is just about as comfy and warm. As many other reviewers have noted this is in great part due to Kristi and Matt.

Saltair is perfectly located in Bar Harbor; close to everything you could want. We were there at what must be one of the low points in tourism during the year. But there were NO CROWDS and we felt like we had the whole island and Bar Harbor to ourselves. If you've ever visited Mt. Desert Island in July or August you'll know what I mean.

Amazing breakfasts and the conversations with other guests at the table were really enjoyable.

There are other very nice places to stay in Bar Harbor but I doubt you'll feel as much at home yet away from it (no mean feat) as at Saltair.

For us the big attraction is Acadia National Park. So many beautiful opportunities so close at hand. And in the winter....you have it almost to yourself. Wanted to snowshoe this year (as I did last year) but there was no snow. So was compelled to trek on foot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite. It's HUGE and very comfortable so that on a rainy, foggy day bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFDNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

So I'm a bit late with my review as we stayed there back in the summer of 2009! Although we have been to quite a few B&Bs since our experience with the Saltair Inn (both in the US and abroad), I haven't had a stay quite as impressive as our stay with Matt & Kristi back in July 2009. I think we had the Acadia room (2nd floor, access to great balcony, 2 way fireplace); the room was absolutely fantastic; it is located close to the main street in Bar Harbor. Our hosts provided fantastic recommendations as far as places to eat and things to do; and really treated us as visiting family or old friends, rather than just guests. Although the rate is a bit pricey, it is well worth it. As I said, we've stayed at many B&Bs, and they all kind of run together after some time - but our experience at Saltair has always been memorable, and always beckons us to return to Bar Harbor (and stay at the Saltair of course) sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.6 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Property: Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1430
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): $243 - $466
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing