We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect B&B!”
Review of Hearthside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hearthside B&B
Ranked #3 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect B&B!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My wife and I spend our vacations (and sometimes enhanced business trips) in or near National Parks. We discovered Acadia National Park and the Hearthside B&B in 2006. We have since been back almost a dozen times. Barry and Susan are the perfect hosts and have detailed knowledge of Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. The real beauty of this B&B is that it is in the center of Bar Harbor and is only a couple of minutes walk from the restaurants on Main Street and the Maine shoreline. You can hike, ride a bike, take a bus or drive a car into Acadia National Park from the B&B in just minutes! However, what we love most about the Hearthside is the genuine affection that Barry and Susan have for their guests and they make an excellent breakfast, too! We feel right at home when we visit. Each room (and we have stayed in them all) are very well kept and decorated and we have said many times over, we never sleep better than when we stay at Hearthside.

Room Tip: Our favorite rooms are "Romeo and Juliet" and "Emily Dickenson"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
292
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We've stayed at the Hearthside multiple times over about 15 years. Barry and Susan are always welcoming and make everyone feel at home. Both are very knowledgeable about the town and park (ask Barry about favorite hikes). Of course there's always a great breakfast (don't miss homemade granola on the corner table). Barry and Susan even adjust recipes for people with special diets or food allergies. The house is in a great location - a quick walk to downtown Bar Harbor and just far enough from the square to be quiet. All the rooms have different Victorian themes, many named after famous people. In cool weather there's a fire in the living room. Many guests are regulars who come year after year. It's definitely our favorite place to stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT_traveler413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is the perfect place to stay for a Bar Harbor vacation. The Inn is only two blocks from the town and the Acadia National Park shuttle bus system. But even better than the location is the Inn itself. Susan and Barry will make you feel at home the moment you walk in the door and they are a wealth of knowledge about the local restaurants and the myriad of things to do in and around the National Park. The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. The full breakfast is outstanding. The hot entree is supplemented by cereal, fruit and fresh baked muffins and breads. The afternoon cookies aren't bad either. We have recommended the Hearthside to other innkeepers who have asked where to refer their guest in Bar Harbor and would, without hesitation, recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JABSchenectady_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I came here on my honeymoon and have come back over the years - this last year we came with our kids! Susan and Barry are the finest in-keepers I have ever met in my years of traveling and staying at B&B's around the world. They know the best places to eat (which can change year-to-year) and will help make reservations, recommend things to do, make your lunch for a hike and even surprise you with a bottle of champagne on your honeymoon. Sometimes, we booked late and were not able to get the same room over our stay - we've done it many times and it is not a problem...they will move your bags for you. I loved it because I can now say I have stayed in every themed room in the inn (I honestly have loved something about them all)...Winston and Emily are my faves!

You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Book early...email Susan and she will make reservations for your stay as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabassnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milltown, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

What can I say, we've stayed at the Hearthside at least 5 times (we've kind of lost count) and we are ready to go back again. Here’s why…
Great location – the Inn is on a quiet side street right in town. It’s easy walking to everywhere in town.
Great rooms – each room is unique and lovingly decorated. My husband and I have stayed in a few of the rooms, but now we have our favorite that we request each time.
Very clean – the Inn itself and all the rooms are always clean.
Great breakfast - nice home-cooked hearty breakfast to get you started for the day. I'm a vegetarian and Susan and Barry always take care to make a veggie version of whatever delicious dish they are serving.
Susan and Barry are great hosts. They've helped us plan day trips & hikes and given recommendations for restaurants. They really know the area, take advantage of their knowledge. They’ve never steered us wrong.
Nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.5 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthside B&B

Property: Hearthside B&B
Address: 7 High St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): $94 - $208
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthside Inn is a nine room B&B built at the turn of the century in 1907 and located on a quiet side street in town Bar Harbor. All rooms are decorated in victorian and traditional furnishings and offer private baths. Three rooms offer whirlpool tubs, three offer fireplaces for a chilly night and two offer private porches. Two rooms offer "detached private" baths and we provide soft cushy robes for your use during your stay with us. We include a fantastic full breakfast to start your day and home made afternoon treats with refreshments. Brian is a native to the island so he can help you with all the hiking and biking questions you may have to help you enjoy your visit while in beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Catherine is a native to Maine and make sure you check out her hand made soaps....they're very nice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hearthside B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing