We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-season in BH means little is open.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Pre-season in BH means little is open.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

March 17, 2012 it felt like spring so up to ME we went. Camden first then Bar Harbor (BH). With no reservations and no plans, a pair of 50+ year olds went on a lark to BH and later to Labec, ME. Off season is off season. We drove to the BH and worked backwards Rt 3 to find a place to stay. Far from the road, close to town was the ocean bay is Atlantic Hotel @ Oceanside. 119 Eden Street, BH, ME. The owners (Cough's?) opened all of their hotels a bit earlier than usual.

The item chosen for complaint will tell you how little there is to complain about : The sheets were too new and krinkly as if starched. Which I liked but my other half found...distracting.

We will be going back and not waste time looking around next time we are there. Why? Because across the street is a great dining restaurant that opened early also. Why? because for those that want that perfect sunrise picture in the morning....just go to your own balcony in your PJ's at 6:25am take that pic and go back to bed. Why? because the ferry is next door should you want to wander further and make their schedule on time. The long walkway to the sailing ship in the picture was just being newly assembled when we arrived. Why? because the staff and help is as cheerful as you'd ever want them to be. Why? because Acadia Nation Park can be accessed to all of its points at the cross roads just a bit down the road towards town. Why? Because it is NOT in town. Why? It is a clean hotel. There is one door (call it for the weather) and then your own private room door. Screened window in each. Keep the key card upright when you swipe it. Why? because the bathroom is large enough as is the room. From the back of the hotel to the front balcony is one apartment/room and appointed in a very non-distracting way. Except for the balcony! The view is distracting! Two chairs and a table with enough room to move.Why? because the beds were "to fall asleep in" soft yet supportive. Why? because it is only four stories high and if we chose any of the (three?) other buildings to stay in we would have been closer to the water and only two stories. This means everyone has a CLEAR view of the ocean. There is one building closer to the road that has less of a view.Why? because breakfast (off season gets continental) is served in the ground floor facing the ocean. The indoor pool is on that level too.

We foraged in town for a lobster roll and were told that it was too early to offer it. But the bar (Blue Whale?) has offerings were fresh and tastey. So few locals in the bar that the waitress didn't show. The bartender wasn't running but never stopped moving quickly either. The gas station at Newton Way and Route 3 has a bunch of natural wood bench seating and good fare.

Room Tip: Stop with the choosing the "good room". This staff will offer you choices and with just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    420
    115
    52
    24
See reviews for
392
498
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here in March, I think only hotel open in Bar Harbor! Very nice, clean room. Private balcony overlooking bay was a nice surprise, able to see beautiful sunrise from balcony. Staff very helpful and full of information.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Having stayed at nearly all of Bar Harbor's pet-friendly hotels, we were pleasantly surprised by the Atlantic Oceanside during our stay in early March. The view was lovely, and the private balcony was a plus. The room was a bit outdated, but very clean and had a flat screen TV with plenty of channels to choose from. No sleeping trouble. No barking neighbors. A continental breakfast was provided; we grabbed a blueberry muffin for the road, satisfied that we got a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aandptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We decided to get the room right close up next to the water. The rooms are spacious, have their own patios with french doors, and very comfy beds. Granted there wasn't solid walls between the patios so you could see your neighbors, but no big deal. The pools and jacuzzi's closed at 9, so we couldn't try them out. It was slightly far away from town, but there is a lovely diner close to the hotel for some yummy breakfast! I didn't have any problems with thin walls, but then again we traveled in September 2010, in the off season. I thought for the price this is an amazing hotel. I would not hesitate to go back here again. The only thing that was stinky was when we got the munchies at 10pm, the vending machines were our only choice unless we wanted to trek into town. But, that can be planned for and food can be bought before hand. Loved it!

Room Tip: Definitly splurge and choose the room closest to the shore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The positives: Beautiful view, balcony, plenty of parking (was winter however), open in the winter and very clean and fairly updated room.

The negatives: Not right in town, super thin walls (heard the guy next to me snoring all night long), the lobby looks like a cheap gift shop, and the door to my room had a window in it (with curtain at least).

Overall it was fine for what it was, a one-night business trip and if I go back in the winter, I think it's the only choice. At least McKay's Pub was open in town which has great food and drinks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem6181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.2 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,243 reviews
2.0 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
1.6 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
588 reviews
0.3 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
2.2 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): $243 - $436
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing