We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Tour of Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor area!

We toured with Matt of MDI tours and this young man was AWESOME! He was so knowledgeable of the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Michelle G
via mobile
Exceptional Insider Tour

We did the 9 night cruise on Anthem of the Seas 10-4-18 sailing. Have done over 50 cruises and done... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
harrgorges
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing tour cruise ship in acadia national park cadillac mountain dock knowledge sights company scenery island
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Evan was wonderful, informative and accommodating! I could sit and talk to him for hours about his home state! You can’t go wrong! Much better than a bus tour off the ship!

2  Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

What a great tour! We knew very little about the area and really no idea as to where to go or what to see. Matt did a great job and kept us interested at every turn. Great views, great picks for the places to stop walk around and take great photos. Very patient with our questions and even our craziness request to stop at the 8th oldest golf course in the states so we could get hats. All four of us had a great time and would highly suggest you use them. Simply put, he made us feel like we were his family. You can't go wrong.

2  Thank Firefighter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

My wife and I actually spent our 30th anniversary with Matt a couple weeks ago, touring MDI. To say this was the best professional tour we've ever taken is an understatement.

We visited Bar Harbor by cruise ship, and Matt picked us up right at the end of the dock - in a huge comfortable Suburban.

The rest of the day was quite simply like a having your brother excited to take you around to show you all the favorite spots around his town! Matt's knowledge and enthusiasm for Bar Harbor was contagious! He's also a humble guy, and a safe and patient driver. We saw tons more than anyone on one of those huge tours did - and it was a blast! We stopped where we wanted , when we wanted. Took as long as we chose to explore, and then continued on.

Occasionally we crossed paths with the big tour buses at the "touristy" spots, but as they were being hustled like cattle off the bus/ on the bus, we were taking our time soaking in the scenery and the culture with Matt telling us the local lore and showing is the real Bar Harbor area. Matt never ever rushed us. He took tons of photos of us with our cameras, and showed us the good spots for the best views. He knows everyone on the island (he had locals come up to him just to to say hello). You can tell people like him.

This was the best tour we've ever taken. Period.

4  Thank Barefootin-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

This was our third visit to Bar Harbor. This one aboard the Crown Princess. As we had spent 3 days last fall exploring Bar Harbor by car on our own, we decided to find a local tour company rather than a “ship sponsored” tour. We found MDI on line and booked with them a few weeks before our sailing.

What a great choice this turned out to be. Evan and his dad, Matt, were easy to work with by phone. They met us at the dock and off we went. We saw all the “popular” sights of Acadia and so much more. They are locals and knew so much about the island. Thoroughly enjoyed our morning tour.
We highly recommend this company.

1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

This tour is fantastic & a great value for the money. Our driver & owner Matt who has lived on the island for 30 years gave us an extensive & educational guided tour of all Arcadia & more. We saw & visited places there beautiful but unfamiliar to other tour groups. The Visitor Center recommended his tour which we greatly appreciate. Other options were riding on a hard bench on a trolley or a 40 year old school bus. We had a great GMC suburban with comfortable & the ability to charge our phones. Great Afternoon!!

2  Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews