We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Luzerne, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Location is perfect for walking the whole town! Housekeeping is excellent & the price is right!

Room Tip: End units are always my favorite 113 was great - off the street!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeludollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    254
    43
    5
    4
See reviews for
183
260
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I traveled with my mom to Bar Harbor. Perfect location for her. She has trouble walking and this motel is in close proximity to the Shuttle Stop. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
714 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Villager Motel is an old complex but clean and reasonable rates. They advertise wifi but it's only available on one side of the building. The management indicates the building is so old that signal wil not work thru the entire building. Small refrigerators in each room.

Coffee and muffins is the only thing available for breakfast startint at 7:30 AM.

Room Tip: Ask for wifi room if it's needed. Ask for directions to the good breakfast restaurant "thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusdriverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bar Harbor Villager Motel. As I mentioned in previous responses about the WIFI issue, we only advertise that we have free WIFI *on the property* and definitely do not advertise that it is available in the rooms, because we are very well aware of its limitations. We have had multiple specialists working on the issue, but it has proven more difficult than expected due to the thickness of the walls in the building. We are more than happy to accommodate any guest who requests WIFI in the room, as long as we know that the guest requires it. We also have WIFI in the lobby, which is open 22 hours per day for guest convenience. As WIFI is becoming an increasingly expected service, we will continue to make every effort to improve the signal capabilities in the rooms, and in the meantime we will do our best to accommodate guest requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

For our three day stay we chose the 3 night package offered by Villager Motel. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised. And they were so gracious to help us get information about home on the VA earthquake (30 mi. from epicenter) when our wi-fy connection didn't work. The room was more than adequate for our stay--as per our requirements--a comfortable, quiet, and clean room to sleep and shower--we parked our car and walked the enjoyable town. The meals at the Reading Room Restaurant were delectable. Our sail on the Margaret Todd (mared only by the news of the VA earthquake) was great fun. I would recommend this motel and it's packages.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RETIREDvatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is our second year in a row that we've stayed at the Bar Harbor Villager Motel. We like the convenience of being close enough to walk to the Pier, Shops and Restaurants after a long day in Acadia. The rooms are clean, service is great and most of the staff is friendly and helpful. We were however, extremely disappointed, as last year they gave us a deal on a 4 night stay... and this year we stayed 7 nights, and they never even offered a discount or "package savings" for our room...plus the price went up $30.00 a night...Hmmm??? Unless the Bar Harbor Villager Motel changes their policy we will be looking for different hotel/motel next year. After shopping around we have found that most places are considerate and offer some type of discount or package deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dobearsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
2.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.5 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
7.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): $156 - $300
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing