We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love this place”
Review of Sadie's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sadie's by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I Love this place”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

First off you have to accept that you are in American Samoa and not Beverly Hills. With only two passenger flights a week from Hawaii and two cargo ships per month the community does not have a lot of easy access to the daily luxuries of life.
So start by slowing down and changing your attitude because you have just changed your latitude.
So when you check into Sadies By The Sea get ready to make some friends because that's what Samoa is all about. Don't look the staff as anything lees than your friends and you will have the time of your life.
Expecting or demanding the luxuries of a four star USA hotel would be a sign of ignorance. Now with all that said there is nothing like getting up early grabbing a cup of coffee and watching the turtles pop their heads out of the water or having a beer with another traveler or some local businessman. The hotel is in a great location just 20 min from the airport and walking distance to town,
The staff are some of the nicest people you will ever meet and when you are at Sadie By The Sea you it a lot cooler than being at a Sheraton in Manhattan.
Looking forward to getting back soon.

Room Tip: Look into buying or renting a Bluesky phone and internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BOOYAAF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    62
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
26
31
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We made reservations, & the receptionist informed me that we could check in the morning. When we got there, around 11, the room was far from being ready. It took about an hour & a half to be finished. When we finally got in the room, the bed sheets were filthy, covered in sand and the cleaning process looked rushed. The air con was on timer, which kept me awake & I had to continually turn it back on. There were also many cockroaches, which was very disburbing.
The Goat Island Cafe was not very impressive. The food in the menu sounded very appealing, but our food was burnt, the meat sauce was put on poorly and it was very over priced. Also, cold cereal and cornbread was not my impression of free continental breakfast. I was very disappointed. Also, just a suggestion, they should have more than one girl at the front desk.
Overall, my stay was not as exciting as I was hoping, but oh well.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSaiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
With all the clues in this review I should be able to identify the mentioned problem(s) but unfortunately I have struck out so I must give a general response:
1. Early check-in: This is never promised (unless the guest expects to be charged) at time of reservation. If House-keeping permits, (i.e. rooms are properly serviced) we make every effort to accommodate early arrivals on a no-charge basis. Check-in time is 3pm. (No guest was charged for early check-in in December)
2. "Bed sheets were filthy".. this, of course is totally unacceptable, however Reception was never notified and there is no record in House-keeping log of a problem so unfortunately this is impossible to comment on..
3. "Air-con was on timer"...Let me see...guest checks in at 12:30 pm and is not familiar with AC remote control. This problem is not uncommon but with 24 hr security, reception desk available and Housekeeping personnel being available all day, I question why this was not reported. Any one of these people would have corrected the problem and instruct the guest.on correct operation.
4. There were also "many cockroaches"...Sorry, not acceptable. We take pest control very seriously. Cockroaches are flying insects. Occasionally they will find their way in to a room -we ARE in the Tropics. Again we have no record of a problem being reported..
5. Disappointing "Free" Continental breakfast....Although we are considering it, we have never offered FREE continental breakfast. Obviously this guest simply helped themselves with accessible items adjacent to coffee service and again never communicated with any wait staff.
6. .."Meat Sauce was put on poorly"...there are no dishes on our menu requiring "meat sauce".

It is interesting to note that this guest gave a 2 star rating for "LOCATION"! No doubt SuperSaiyan can suggest a better location.

We encourage guests to post their experiences on Tripadvisor, however this does not take the place of basic communications with service staff, which is, unfortunately, the case with this reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at Sadies only one night after coming back from Western Samoa this past June. We should have made our stay in Pago longer. This was the highlight of our trip. Everyone who works at Sadies is extremely nice and helpful! The grounds are beautiful, right on the ocean. The goat island cafe is where we spent most of our night ;) Great drinks, good food, music, adorable cats (we miss Ena), and fun staff. We are planning on making a trip back and will definitely stay at Sadies again.

Much Alohas from Hawaii,
Maria and Kimie

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thanks for the great review Maria.
We certainly look forward to your return.
Happy Holidays to you and yours.
--Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Recently visited Sadies by the Sea again and had a great time. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy. The food at the Goat Island Cafe is lovely and also enjoyed the local band that was playing by the pool. Thanks to Tom, the owner who always makes our visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I recently stayed 11 days in Pago Pago, and fortunately 9 of them were at Sadie's. We had a large group and could not return for the last two nights due to previous bookings. The owner, Tom, and the rest of the staff welcomed us with open arms when we arrived unannounced. They had plenty of rooms, and all of the rooms were extremely comfortable. The food at the Goat Island Cafe on property was the best food that we had on the whole island. The restaurant staff were very friendly, courteous, and attentive. We all got to know each other on a first name basis, so thank you to Faith, Keana, Ala, and the rest of the gang for making our stay there so wonderful. The showers were par for an island, but don't expect excessive water pressure. The air conditioners are ROCKIN'! They will freeze you out! The rooms are clean, and the cable TV in the rom was the best possible on the island. The private beach was great, and Sadie's has free snorkeling gear (however, it only comes in children's sizes) and Kayaks to rent for $5/hour. The view is beautiful, and the location is great. There are plenty of little shops and other restaurants about. I would definitely stay here again.....

The other hotel was newer and closer to the airport, but no where near as comfortable, scenic, or friendly. Don't look anywhere else on the island..... go straight to Sadie's.

Room Tip: All rooms open up to the beach/pool area. My room was 219 and had a great view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sadie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sadie's by the Sea

Property: Sadie's by the Sea
Address: Utulei Beach, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Region: American Samoa > Tutuila > Pago Pago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Price range (per night): $177 - $194
Hotel Class:3 star — Sadie's by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sadie's By The Sea is the only full service, beach front resort in American Samoa, located in the heart of the government and business centers of the island, and close to many tourist attractions. Sadie's by the Sea is a fun, charming resort with first class Polynesian service. Lush forested mountains surrounding Pago Pago's deep blue harbor complete the view from every room. Our private beach and clear warm water, just a few steps from your room, are perfect for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sadie's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sadie`s By The Sea Hotel Pago Pago
Sadies By The Sea Pago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing