We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to unwind”
other travellers have booked this property
MOONSET
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
MOONSET
BEACH POOL
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
MOONSET
BEACH
POOL
LIVING ROOM THROUGH DINING AREA
DINING AREA
KITCHEN
QUEEN SIZE BED
BATHROOM
TV AND DVD PLAYER
VIEW FROM LIVING ROOM TO OCEAN
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waianae, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tim N
Taylors Falls
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally misrepresented!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
9
people found this review helpful

We booked a one week stay at the Maili Cove Resort, 3rd floor, ocean front unit. The pictures and wording in the unit summary totally misrepresented the condition of this property and, specifically, this unit. We encountered everything from half used food in the fridge to grease and grime on the patio door runners, a very old window AC unit, which was noisy and the owner asked us not to use, unless it was at night to drown out the extreme traffic/road noise, dogs in neighboring units that barked at every noise, grimey overhead lights, kitchen and bathroom cupboards that were badly in need of repair and paint, and I could literally go on and on. I called the owner with our issues and, after some negotiations, we told him we would have to find other accomodations, after two nights, and he agreed to refund me $800.00 for the prorated portion of our week that we wouldn't stay. It's now nearly a month afterwards and I have yet to receive a refund. He has ignored my calls and messages. Wouldn't recommend this property to my worst enemy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
one man's view, check the other renters comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is my fourth visit to Maili Cove. My friends stay there four months out of the year and I try to visit every other year. If you have seen all the sights of Hawaii Waianae - Maili Cove is the perfect place to say. Beautiful mornings on the Lanai and gorgeous sunsets! Most residents own there but are plenty of rentals. Owners are very lovely and friendly people. The pool us wonderful - it's not clorine, but a saline pool. Very nice!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As described, very good, not perfect”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Overall we had a great stay in this condo, it is pretty much exactly as
advertised/shown. Sunsets with the palms are amazing. The other descriptive reviews are very accurate: bad traffic noise in the bedroom, can be drowned by the not-very-effective A/C. Small A/C (5K BTU) will not really cool the entire condo, so I wouldn't stay here in the warmer months unless the owner upgrades that. NEW idea: We "hacked" the situation by moving the queen mattress onto the living-room floor in front of the TV and by the lanai, closing off the bedroom doors for noise, and leaving the lanai open, giving us wonderful wave sounds, almost no traffic noise, a firmer bed, cool breezes, fan overhead, and a fantastic view from the bed. Huge win!
If you had someone on the thin/saggy fold-out couch bed, this wouldn't work... but I would only recommend that couch to my enemies. If you are bringing 3+, bring/buy an air mattress.
Until Ed buys a few more kitchen knives, bring your own.
The kitchen is otherwise well equipped, even including an excellent vintage Osterizer Pulse-matic blender
(although we couldn't find the lid). There's even a conch horn to blow at sunset.

A few things not otherwise mentioned:
- the property abuts a large beachfront park, where locals have impressively large picnics on the weekends, but it is otherwise empty and a great mile-long run.
- the beach in both directions is deep coarse sand steeply sloping into the water, most of which is fronted by lava flows. This makes it suprisingly hard to walk on the beach, and definitely not a wading/swimming area immediately in front of the condo. You can walk a half mile or so into the park to get a sandy entry. There is far better wading/swimming/snorkeling a short drive away.
- traffic is terrible at rush hours. Plan on at least an hour to/from the city, if you must. This is not a good base for city activities, too far away and on slow roads constantly under construction. The "highway" has lights and a 25-45mph speed limit. It is also an hour to the north shore, because there is no direct route. But if you want few tourists and lovely views, plus great hiking, this is a good base. Hiking to the pillboxes on nearby hill is a fun all-walking-distance outing. Kaena Point with a great 3mi shorefront hike to view nesting albatrosses is a short drive away.
- the TV has lots of music choices at channels 600+

First floor units in this complex have the advantage of direct access to the pool lawn. Otherwise, as in this unit 310, you must lock your outside door and also go through a gate to get to the pool. However, the view from the third floor is definitely better, and 310 is smack in the middle of the building, so has least obstruction except for the end units. I will try to post amazing sunset views...best ever, and I've been in a lot of paradises!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mccrfam
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great winter location”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Good location and value away from the hustle of the West and the big city. Spent 3 nights after a week in Kailua. In February, this side of the island is much drier and less windy. The pool and beach are at your doorstep. Snorkeling near by. Beautiful sunsets. Whale watching from the balcony. Fairly well equipped kitchen. Comfortable living area. Cable TV and Internet.

Third floor with no elevator. Dated linens/towels/pillows. On a busy/noisy road. If you're looking for night life....there isn't much.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelerm...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont Beleive”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This place is total ripoff when it comes to hidden charges.No clean towel or bedding was provided and they added a cleaning fee of $120
to the bill so the actual price to rent was $170.You can find far better places for less.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Aloha, we I was told that you had concerns about towels and cleanliness of the unit, I sent the cleaning lady to talk with you. She reported to me that you were happy with her efforts. The $120 cleaning charge is a one time charge and not a daily charge, so your statement about rental charge of $170 per day is incorrect. Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing