We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon on the water!”
Review of Ocean Joy Cruises

Ocean Joy Cruises
Ranked #3 of 17 Tours in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ocean Joy Cruises will take you to the unspoiled Waianae coastline on the island of Oahu where dolphins, turtles and other Hawaiian sea life play and flourish on our 62' custom power catamaran. Take a dive into one of Hawaii’s best snorkeling spots, watch dolphins and whales (seasonal) as they glide through the cool waters of the Pacific, view the most stunning scenic vistas and perhaps, even watch the most romantic sunset on earth.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a terrific experience from start to finish with Ocean Joy! The staff was very friendly and professional and the snorkeling was superb. The lunch served was delicious as well!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OJC-Staff, Customer Service at Ocean Joy Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Aloha Lance H.,

Mahalo for cruising with us on the Kai'oli'oli and sharing your review. Every comment is very important to us and we are extremely happy that you had a terrific experience. We hope to see you again and please don't forget to tell your friends about us.

Aloha,

Ocean Joy Cruises Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea turtles"
in 80 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 58 reviews
"captain jim"
in 27 reviews
"fish"
in 192 reviews
"flash drive"
in 10 reviews
"ginger pills"
in 9 reviews
"afternoon cruise"
in 15 reviews
"great cruise"
in 13 reviews
"food and drinks"
in 43 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 8 reviews
"bus driver"
in 19 reviews
"snorkeling spot"
in 17 reviews
"boat ride"
in 19 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 13 reviews
"dolphin watching"
in 9 reviews
"pod of spinner dolphins"
in 13 reviews
"crew members"
in 14 reviews
Filter

90 - 94 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went on the late afternoon snorkel cruise on 4/22/18, after carefully selecting this cruise out of all the other ones offered. Primarily because it said we'd venture up the west coast of Oahu to swim with dolphins, sea turtles, and likely see a few whales on the way. My girlfriend has a fear of sharks and didn't even want to dive, so I paid just so she could ride out on the boat.

We had bad luck in Hawaii. During the 12 days were visited, it was completely overcast everyday except for two. We patiently waited for good weather, but it wasn't coming, so we had to go on this cruise the night before we left if we wanted to do it at all.

It was chilly by Hawaiian standards. Upper 60's and windy with overcast skies. The tour guide didn't really even want to get it the water because he said it was so abnormally "cold" out and asked if we were sure we wanted to dive and make him freeze? However, about eight us wanted to snorkel, so he had to go in! (Coming from New England, I thought the water was really warm!)

While the guide was great, the cruise wasn't exactly what was advertised. I don't think we even ventured five miles up the coast from where we started? We followed the coast a few miles and dropped anchor about 1,000 feet off a beach where a coal/gas power plant discharged warm water into the surrounding sea, raising the water temp a few degrees. (I thought we were going to dive offshore in the reefs)

The hour in the water was fun. There was a photographer in the water taking underwater photos for those who wanted to buy them, but we didn't swim with any Dolphins. Didn't even see one! I saw one sea turtle swim off into the deep, but that was it. No whales either. Just a lot small colorful fish in about 40 feet of water with a mostly sandy bottom. Not much reef or structure. I rented a snorkel and snorkeled off a beach on this trip for $20 and saw more than I did off this boat!

Free alcoholic drinks and a pork BBQ dinner were served after the dive. It was ok, but didn't make up for the subpar experience. We paid to sail up the western coast, go offshore and swim with dolphins and turtles. Maybe see a whale. Not take a five mile trip, just barley offshore, only to dock off an industrial power plant discharging into the sea.

I don't know....Maybe this cruise is better on days the weather is nice? Maybe they go further? But we didn't feel like we got what was advertised. There were many other snorkel tours that were cheaper, but we chose this one because it said we'd go up the coast and snorkel with dolphins and turtles.

If all the cruises are like this, save your money. If it was because of weather, I wish they'd just canceled the trip and refunded our money. It wasn't worth it.







Thank Adam81980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OJC-Staff, Customer Service at Ocean Joy Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Aloha Adam81980,

Mahalo for cruising with us on the Kai'oli'oli and sharing your review.

We acknowledge that you must have waited patiently to vacation in Hawaii, a place known for it's sunshine, blue skies, and crystal clear blue waters. Sorry to hear that the weather wasn't cooperative during your visit but we are truly grateful that, after careful research, you chose to cruise with us on the Kai'oli'oli. After reading your review, it seemed the major flaw was that our cruise wasn't exactly what you were sold, and therefore expected.

Since we don't know exactly your tour date and information, we assume you were informed by a sales / activity agency that you were going offshore to swim with dolphins and turtles. We are 1 of a handful of companies on West Oahu that participate in NOAA's Dolphin SMART program. We are committed to view our nai’a (dolphin) friends in a respectful, safe and responsible manner. This means only viewing them from aboard our catamaran and following the strict guidelines of the program. I'm sorry to say that we don't swim with dolphins and you may have been informed incorrectly by the agency. Based on that, it seems you may have purchased the wrong activity.

We operate rain or shine and with that, the sky can open up at any given moment in Hawaii, except it didn't during your cruise. We're confident that any boat you might have been on that day would have likely faced the same conditions and operated the same way by feeding their guests and at least making an attempt to snorkel. We have cancelled when certain weather conditions occur no matter how far we get into the cruise.

We search for dolphins which may take us anywhere to just outside the marina or up the West coast to Makaha, based on ocean conditions. When we find a pod, we may stay in that immediate area where the action is. We don't necessarily travel up to Makaha all the time. If you were with us in April, the humpback whales have started their migration back to Alaska and sightings have become fewer. The snorkel location you described is probably one of the best on the island because of the warm water. The area is teemed with fish and other wildlife.

And yes, when the skies are clear and the sun is beaming, the overall experience is much better. We hope you can come out again one day when the weather is nicer.

Aloha!

Ocean Joy Cruises Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Friendly crew from check in to return. Fun snorkeling, colorful fish, good gear provided. Great photos available for purchase. You’ll definitely enjoy this snorkel cruise.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OJC-Staff, Customer Service at Ocean Joy Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha Kristin B.,

Mahalo for cruising with us on the Kai'Oli'Oli and sharing your review. We hope you enjoy the pictures. Each of our cruise is staffed with a photographer to capture guest memories above and underwater. The pictures are available by the end of the cruise and for only $40, you walk away with your priceless memories without having to stress over taking pictures, allow yourself to relax and enjoy your cruise and leave the photo's to us. For guests who decide later to purchase their photo's, we can send them an email link to download all their pictures onto their computer.

We hope to see you again and please don't forget to tell your friends about us.

Aloha,

Ocean Joy Cruises Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We did this last year and loved it and made sure we made time to do it again this year. We were so lucky to do both the afternoon and the sunset cruise. The snorkeling was like swimming in an aquarium, with all the beautiful fish. We saw many, many dolphins and tons of turtles. The service was great. The food was great and so were the mai tais!! We will do it again when we return next year for sure!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Campion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OJC-Staff, Customer Service at Ocean Joy Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha Campion1234,

Mahalo for joining us on the Kai'Oli'Oli and sharing your review. Seems you had an awesome, memorable day with us and we are honored to have been part of it. We hope to see you again and please don't forget to tell your friends about us.

Aloha,

Ocean Joy Cruises Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Joy Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Joy Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing