We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Hospitality and Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Lanikai all fire up in the morning.
Lanikai point
Sunrise on Kailua beach
View over Lanikai
Kailua beach in the morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
IndianaCh...
Martinsville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hospitality and Location”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Rental was located conveniently in a quiet neighborhood between Kailua Beach and town of Kailua. Great to connect with owners Tina and Brian who were excellent hosts. Got to talk basketball with Brian and best places to visit with Tina. They were our first Hawaiian friends! Temperatures were nice being there in January. We were gone morning until early evening most days during our week-long stay. Room was a little warm in the early evening, but comfortable by bedtime. In-room fan helped a lot. Room was clean, bed comfortable, shower was nice and good options on the TV. Needed a little more room to stash the toiletries, but Tina said they are in process of building bathroom shelves. My wife and I were gone a lot, so the rental was perfect for us to come home to and shower/unwind before bed. This was our first visit to Hawaii for our 25th anniversary, and we are glad we stayed here! Thanks for going extra mile for us Indiana folks, guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and Comfortable Bed
Liked least: More room for Bathroom Toiletries
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW_Raven
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
“A cozy and private room within walking distance of everything”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This room is as advertised: a private room with a queen bed, an ensuite bathrorom, and basic self-catering. An older couple on a week-long stay, we found this room just right. It was private, cozy, and handy to our main interest: the beaches. Our walk to Kailua Beach was an easy 15 minutes and to Lanikai, with its great snorkeling (and problematic car access) about 25 minutes. Also within a 15-minute walk in the other direction is Kailua's main shopping and restaurant area.

The room is off the side of a large home. It is well-separated with exterior walls on three sides. The main door opens onto a private fenced garden, where a table and chairs enabled us to enjoy the sun in the afternoon and the cool of the evening. The wi-fi signal was strong enough to reach out here. The entrance to this area is through a private gate off the driveway. The windows at the rear of the room open onto the resident family's small pool, but we experienced no noise from this area during our stay other than the filtration waterfall, which activated automatically early each morning.

The queen bed was good and well-clothed and room tastefully decorated. The wood floor was ideal for this warm climate and the ceiling fan was a pleasure at night. Since there are opening windows on two sides and extra fans, ventilation was not a problem. The bathroom, equipped with a shower, was small but nice. It could use another shelf or medicine cabinet since the toiletries of two people exceeded its capacity.

A closet space housed the basic self-catering facilities: a counter, a mini-fridge, a coffee maker, crockery, and a microwave. This was adequate for our purposes. However, the lack of an overhead light over the counter made the space difficult to use. Also, the sideboard space was a little too small to be useful. (These are visible in the listing's photos.)

For the beachgoer, there is an outdoor shower head for rinsing off and a clothesline for hang drying. Our car (which we did not have to use much thanks to the location) we were asked to park at the road side in front. This location is a little dangerous because it sits on a blind curve and the space is tight. We would have preferred to have a spot on the very large driveway.

Our host, Tina, was professional and attentive. Throughout our stay she was responsive and made sure we had what we needed. Indeed, she was kind enough to lend us various items of beach gear (beach towels are supplied). She also gave us the use her laundry machines, which were in a utility space near the suite.

On arrival, Tina's welcome gift of good wine and chocolates signaled her intention to make our stay a good one -- and it was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, value
Liked least: Lack of light over counter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. It was a pleasure to meet such a classy couple as such as you both. I'm glad you both enjoy your stay and enjoy the snorkeling trips. We hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent stay. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Reiters are very thoughtful hosts who think of just about everything you might need yet provide just the right amount of privacy. Easy walk 10 minute walk to beach and shave ice and center of Kailua is about 15 minutes. Second time I've stayed with them, just as wonderful two years later. About as good as a vacation rental gets. I've stayed in several other vacation rentals in Kailua and this is the best. They were also very accommodating about a late departure on my final day.

My only critiques would the following small improvements:

Bathroom is a bit small so it could use a set of shelves. Hot water takes some time to come on in the shower. Could use a few more or brighter lights in the bedroom. Fast internet was great but it stopped working the last day of my stay. That’s about it: no real problems, just a few suggestions. All in all an excellent stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
It was nice having you back and loved the conversations. We will definitely pick up more lights for the studio and adding shelves in the bathroom.
Sorry the Wifi didn't work on your last night. Because of the concrete wall, the regular wifi doesn't reach the studio so good, we had put in a range extender and didn't realized it dropped on you, wish you had let us know.
We hope to see you back in a few years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet-10...
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value but Warm at Night”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is a bedroom attached to the back of a family's house, not a detached studio. As such, one hears speech and coughing from the family. The ceiling fan pictured did not work, but the owner placed a portable fan in the rental to try to cool off the room. Drapes cover all the windows and it is difficult to push them aside for more ventilation.Hm, give up privacy for more air? Sure. The owner Tina was gracious and experienced, offering useful maps and a bicycle for my use. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. There were 3 available drawers to unpack in, but no table or desk-height surface with a nearby outlet for my tablet. As a senior, I found the room poorly lit. But the price represented a good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Maps and bicycle offered by the owner
Liked least: Too warm at night
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take pride in knowing our guests are comfortable and satisfactory during their stay with us, therefore, we are sadden that you had found our place wasn't up to your satisfactory.
Our house locates in a residential neighborhood, and the studio is our guest quarter and unlike most of the houses in Kailua,our walls are built with CMU,therefore,it gives more privacy to each room, with 3 walls detached and the 4th wall attached to a laundry storage room however it still close to proximity of other rooms or houses.
The ceiling fan, we had checked the ceiling fan and it seem to work, the fan is control by a switch and per half the pull chain was pulled to the off position.
We are also sorry you found the studio is warm at night. For many years, we had not offered air conditioning as our guests enjoy the fresh ocean breeze air in Hawaii. Due to an exceptional hot summer and fall this year, we had recently offered an option of air conditioning for the small extra fees. We are trying to keep the rate low by offering the air conditioner as an option instead of automatic add on, and most of our guest choose to opt out.
From Dec-April,The weather in Hawaii is about mid 60 at night to 80 in the day. Most of the time, Kailua has trade wind and that keep the house ventilated and in a comfortable temperature most of the time, however, during your stay, there was no trade wind.
Above all, we hope you enjoyed your time in the Kailua area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benbiles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This studio apartment was perfect for our holiday.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location away from all the noise of waikiki on in our opinion the best part of Oahu. The local beaches are perfect and Tina is really helpful if you need any info :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing