We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great no nonsense food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tita's Grill & Catering

Tita's Grill & Catering
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tita's Grill, Is a family friendly, local Hawaiian style roadside eatery. We are located right off Kamehameha Highway across from Kahuku High School home of the Red Raiders. Drive up, park and order straight from our window. We offer take out, or have a seat on our outdoor picnic tables and eat Ohana style. Make friends, share aloha and enjoy our onolicious food. We are just a humble "hole in the wall" that serves great food, nothing fancy.
Coventry. UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great no nonsense food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Loved the shrimp and great value, was dissapointed when i'd licked all the flavour from my fingers!! burgers were nice and cheap!! saw someone have the mega burger (split between three) which looked impressive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thatch124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    116
    41
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We found this restaurant by accident and what a great find. The food was great and plentiful and the workers very friendly. It is a stand on the side of the road, but you can not go wrong with it. The garlic shrimp and garlic fries are out of this world. Enjoy

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,503 helpful votes
“So much food, Classic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We could not believe how much food we got, and the friendliest service. Classic, must do. The food was excellent too!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelissaBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memorable and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

To begin, the only reason we found this gem of a place was the lovely "local food" sign placed outside the shack in big red letters! My husband and I wanted to try eating as much like locals as possible, as we're both normally unimpressed by resort restaurants and food. Each time I talk about Hawaii I make sure to mention this place! We ordered the garlic shrimp, chicken teriyaki and beef teriyaki plates. The shrimp were huge and tasted absolutely delicious! They were completely worth the work it took to clean them :) and the chicken and beef tasted great too. The outdoor screened-in dining area was a nice touch and allowed us to escape the sun for a little while to enjoy a peaceful lunch. Additionally, the very friendly and sociable owner, a former CFL player, came and introduced himself, offered his card and a free slice of freshly made coconut turnover cake for my husband and I! It was a delicious and unexpected surprise for us. Definitely the most memorable unplanned food stop we made during our honeymoon in Hawaii!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMariasMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I agree with everything people have said about the food being really good including the fresh baked bread, kalbi ribs, garlic shrimp (it's great value and they serve the biggest shrimp out of the 3 shrimp trucks/roadside restaurants we tried on the north shore). BUT what I totally disagree with is the service, at least in our experience. Ate here twice and after the second time despite great food we vowed never again. 1st time we ordered the person seemed really impatient and had a bit of attitude. She was annoyed when we asked for napkins and another fork. She dropped the fork on the floor and still gave it to us afterwards. . 2nd time a different person took our order and was extremely nice and helpful. There were no lineups and just 4 other tables waiting for food. But it took over 45 min to get our food. They served 12 tables before us which was maddening. They brought out free cake for everyone waiting which made me wonder "why dont you just spend your time making actual orders instead of baking cake and having 1 less person working on cooking what people actuallywant to eat?" we had ordered just 4 things. Finally we asked them to make it a take out order and they handed us a bag with 4 containers in it and we drove the 20 min back to our place to eat it. When we got home we discovered 1 of the main dishes was missing. I'd say eat here if you have all day to wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raeleen-and-nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tita's Grill & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Tita's Grill & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing