We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wavecrest - Molokai”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking Out
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking Out
Watch the whales from the privacy of your lanai Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Looking Out
Watch the whales from the privacy of your lanai
Living Room
Fully equipped kitchen with top quality appliances
Bedroom with California king pillow-top mattress - super comfy!
Cal King Pillow-Top Bed
Bedroom Dresser with TV/DVD and Ltions
Beautifully tiled and modernized bathroom
Wavecrest Pool and Mountains
Wavecrest pool cabana/library
View from lanai
Sunrise from the lanai
Full Moon Over Maui - view from the lanai
Wavecrest Resort
Rainbow - view from the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kaunakakai, Molokai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dougwow
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wavecrest - Molokai”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Wavecrest A304 for three nights at the end of July.
The Flipkey reservation worked without a hitch and the owner, Chaya Friedman, was attentive, friendly and professional.
The unit is a third floor (top floor) condo on the south shore of Molokai about 12 miles from the largest town on Molokai (Kaunakakai, airport and ferry terminal). The condo complex is attractive, well maintained, quiet, with a very nice, large swimming pool. A304 is spacious, modern, comfortable, very clean and contains everything you will need during your stay, including strong wifi. It's a very nice condo. The rear balcony (lanai) is about 75 feet from the ocean and gives a clear view of the islands of Maui and Lanai. A world class view.
While on Molokai we visited the east shore (Halawa Beach Park). Breakfast at Manae Goods & Grindz (egss and spam - delicious), beautiful drive along the coast, road ends at a tropical waveswept beach suitable for better swimmers. Great trip. We visited the west shore. Dry, open country (beautiful if you like desert country, which I do) with one of the most beautiful, and empty, beaches I've seen on any of the islands. Again, for more experienced swimmers. Also a great trip. Interesting history of attempted development on the west end, thwarted by Hawaiians protecting their way of life.
We also tried to visit Kalaupapa (Leper Colony). We planned to hike the cliff trail to the town. Ms. Friedman warned us but we didn't listen, you must make reservations in advance for a tour of the town before you are allowed to visit Kalaupapa or even enter onto the cliff trail. Reservations are very limited. We tried the day before our planned hike to make reservations, but too late. We instead, visited Palaau State Park which offers an excellent overlook of the town.
Other high points, Kanemitzu's Bakery in Kaunakakai, Molokai Museum (near Palaau State Park), Purdy's Macadamia Nut Farm.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zameerupa
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wavecrest A #304 - Views of a lifetime, loving condo”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Visiting Molokai is a genuine escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The Island has 3 key areas to stay in. The first is to the west end of the island where the Kenani Kai Nai condos are located. The area is quiet and secluded, beaches are beautiful, but the area is quite far from the main city of Kaunakaki. For this reason I did not stay on the west end and would only recommend it if you truly want to be far away from everyone and everything. Kaunakaki is the main town on the island and right in the center. This is where you can get most of your meals, supplies, etc. The closest lodging to the city are at the Molokai Shores Condos or the Hotel Molokai. Finally, there is the east side of the Island where Wavecrest Condo A#304 is. I chose this condo because it was further out from the city than Molokai Shores, but not as secluded as the west end. Wavecrest is 13 miles from the city center, but there is a small neighborhood store 3 miles east if you don't want to make the drive into the city center.

The condo itself is stunning. Chaya and Tom, the owners, have poured a ton of love into the condo and have paid attention to every detail. The condo is stacked with everything you would need from all kitchen supplies, to binoculars, to snorkeling equipment, to laundry and bathing supplies. They have also stocked the condo with DVDs, books, and board games if you need a break from the ridiculously gorgeous view. But, I doubt you will be able to leave the view. I spent most of my time in the living room overlooking the bay. There is no a/c in the unit, but the tradewinds that come through the window keep the condo cool all day and night. There are also ceiling fans in the living room and bedroom.

The resorts grounds are safe and well kept. There are no elevators anywhere on the island and so if you have a lot of luggage, be prepared to carry your stuff up 3 floors. However, the view is worth the trek up. The pool area has BBQ grills and a cabana where you can meet up with other residents and guests. The community feel to the resort is awesome.

Ultimately, this is a wonderful condo if you are going by yourself to relax and unwind or if you decide to make it a romantic getaway. Its an amazing place owned by two of the most happy, positive, loving people I have ever met. I strongly recommend the condo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!
Liked least: Love it al
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise In Old Hawaii (Molokai)”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

House Of Love Condo (Molokai Shores) ~ True Paradise On Molokai.
Condo on the Ocean Front. Beautiful Grounds and Condo Nicely Decorated.
Molokai has the most Beautiful Beaches and Scenery In The World.
Owners were wonderful. Go and Enjoy Molokai.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tvh347
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best on Molokai”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in A304 for 2 weeks. It was great. Clean, exceptionally well equipped and located near good snorkeling and other fun east end activities. The complex is quiet, well cared for and has all the amenities. The owners are attentive and a pleasure to deal with. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this unit to anyone visiting Molokai.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the condo and the view from the lanai.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrvingBro...
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

When we went to Moloka'i three years ago, it was our first time, and we stayed only five days. Therefore, we hustled around the island to see as much as we could, and we ate almost all meals at restaurants.

This time we stayed a week, and we didn't go sight-seeing as much. Instead, we took it easy and stayed close to home. "Home" was this lovely, comfortable, splendidly furnished condo. We swam every day at the Wavecrest pool, and we ate every breakfast, most lunches, and half our dinners at "home." By not going out all the time, we saved money, time, and energy.

To tell the truth, the restaurants on Molokai are OK but not superb--you don't go there for the food. It's better to buy fruits and vegetables at Kumu Farm, and other groceries at Friendly Market and Misaki's. Then you cook your fish or steak on the gas grill by the pool and eat in the cabana there or in your condo.

You should also spend time on the lanai, using the binoculars and telescope that Chaya the landlady provides or perhaps just using your eyes. In the day you can look for fish jumping out of the water or, farther away, perhaps a whale. At night you can look up at the stars or left to the ribbon of lights of Maui or right to the perfect darkness of Lana'i. Best of all, you can look at nothing at all.

If you get lucky, Chaya might invite you for dinner at the house she shares with her husband, Tom. From that location up on the mountain side, you'll have a spectacular view of the island, the ocean, and the islands nearby. You also may get the most elegant meal you'll have on Moloka'i.

If this is your first time here, you'll probably want to see places like the beaches and, if you're adventurous enough to ride a mule along a cliff-side, the former leper colony. If you've already seen all that or do not care to do so, you may want to visit places where you can learn about Hawaiian civilization, like the museum, the macadamia farm, the coffee plantation, or the plumeria farm. You might even do like we did and hire somebody to give you lessons in the Hawaiian language.

We happened to be here for Makahiki, the ancient annual festival celebrating the end of the season of war and the arrival of the season of planting and peace. If you visit on the right weekend in January, you should not miss this: the ceremonies and the games. Where else will you see children playing 'ulu maika?

This condo unit is named Ka Hale Ola, which means "The House of Life." The name is apt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: The fact that the island was fogged in, so we arrived a day late
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing