We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My family (my parents, me, my husband, my adult siblings, and toddler niece) spent a week at Napili Point Resort between Christmas and New Years. We had two 2-BR condos that overlooked the rocky bay. We had a great experience!

The condos and property were clean and well-maintained. The condos were well stocked with cooking equipment. Beds were comfortable. The views could not be beat. We would wake up, walk down the 3 minute path to the rocky bay, go snorkeling (there are tons of sea turtles in that bay!), go back to the condo to eat a leisurely breakfast on the lanai (again, watching the turtles popping up in the bay), walk the 5-7 minute path to Napili Bay, spend several hours on the beach, return to the condo for happy hour and dinner on the lanai and then just relax for the evening. Every day. It was amazing.

The location is perfect for families and groups because it is so easy to snorkel or go to the beach. You don't have to wait for everyone in the group to be ready, or want to do the same thing, because you can just meet at the beach.

There is a Snorkel Bobs within walking distance so it is easy to rent snorkel and paddle board equipment. There is also a market (Napili Market) that is about a mile and a half away. That market is a full supermarket. Kaanapali Beach is about a 15 minute drive. I would definitely recommend renting a car as Napili is a bit removed from everything else (part of what makes it lovely).

My only complaint about the condos was that the bathrooms did not have great ventilation (no windows in the shower/toilet room) and toiletries were only replenished once during the week we were there (the condo was cleaned beautifully every day). This is a small detail and, if you have read my other reviews, you know that bathrooms tend to be a point of pickiness for me anyway...

I would stay again at the Napili Point!

Room Tip: The C level rooms are lovely. They are on the second (top) story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roaminrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We just got back from our first time in Hawaii and had such an amazing time. The resort was just perfect and the condo we stayed in could not be better. It was right on the beach and even had an outdoor shower to wash off the sand. If you are going to be in Lahaina you must stay in condo A1. GREAT LOCATION FOR YOUR MONEY! It is the closest condo to the beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blee53686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I just read the previous review from Cleo1117. I want to write how much I disagree with her evaluation of not only A1 but Napili Point Resort! I have stayed in A and B units for 30 years. My family first vacationed there when I was only 9 years old. I have continued the tradition by sharing the experience with my husband, on our honeymoon, and taking our two children for family vacations. All of the units provide a beautiful and unique experience to watch the sunsets. The surfers are always out in the ocean to entertain the guests. The snorkeling with the turtles is another plus at Napili Point Resort.

Cleo1117 stated that the parking lot was 3 groups of steps away from the lower units. The land is built on a slope so there must be steps to get to the lower units. She stated that the owner had locked cabinets in the kitchen of unit A1. My understanding is that each owner has locked cabinets because they need a place to put their personal belongings when they are away from their condos. The kitchen is fully stocked with kitchen utensils and gadgets to cook any meal, and there are ample kitchen cabinets to store purchased food. How much cupboard space does Cleo1117 need?

I have vacationed at Napili Point my entire life and want everyone to experience the wonderful times my family has shared over the years!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RBars123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The grounds at Napili Point Resort are amazing and the sound of the surf is like having your own private sound machine near you at all times. With that said, I have to describe how our vacation started at Napili Point Resort. We booked our trip one year in advance, booking five nights to finish out a three week stay on Maui. We were booking for less than one week and we understood that we would not get to choose our condo, but we paid for one of the condos located on the point so that we would get an ocean front condo. We arrived exactly at the check in time and the process was quick. We were directed to Suite A1. Parking near A1 is difficult and it gave us quite a walk with our luggage considering there were three groups of steps to go down and no elevators for any location on the property. We entered the unit with great expectations only to be disappointed. The furnishings were 1970’s, with a Herculon fabric covered sofa popular in the 70's. Half the kitchen cabinets were locked and reserved exclusively for the owner’s use, the cheap chrome towel rack in the bath room was bent to the extent that it needed to be replaced, and some of the hallway wall was sponge painted a dabbled blue to resemble water. The tile did not match throughout the unit due to replacing the part located in the bathroom and leaving the rest with older and a different color tile. The unit is located about 20 feet from the community outdoor shower so small crowds gathered, the side walk was only 4 feet from our patio so there were plenty of people walking very close to where we were trying to relax, and the worst of all…..this unit was located just above the “smoking hole.” Guests who needed to smoke would light up while still on the property and then move on down to the rocks which technically was off property. We could smell the smoke on our patio and in our unit whenever this happened.

The next morning we requested a move to another unit based on the age and condition of the furnishings and the smoking issue. The manager was able to move us to unit C9 an ocean view suite that was reasonably nice with a couple of exceptions. This unit looked directly over the pool. The furnishings were a high grade rattan, comfortable sofa and additional chairs and a beautiful balcony. The kitchen cabinets were of much higher quality than the unit A1. The only problem with this unit was worn and dirty carpet which turned our bare feet black and an abundance of miniature ants in the bathroom and kitchen. We lost some food to the ants before we discovered them. The manager did send some ant bates to us once we reported the ants. The ant bates were useless, but we managed.

My husband ask about a refund for the difference in price for the unit since we were not moved to another one on the point. We were told that they would have to upgrade an ocean view guest to the A1 ocean point, therefore no refund would be given. I feel the owner of the unit should have to absorb any loss due to the condition of the condo. There is a drastic difference in the quality of the furnishings and the decorating of Unit A1 and other units at the Resort. This owner clearly needs to make improvements to the unit.

Napali Point Resort describes walking to a sand beach implying reasonable accessibility. The walk to the sand beach is a difficult one with signs warning those who venture the trail that accidents can happen. Napili Point wants to advertise the sand beach as close by, but in my opinion does not want to take any responsibility for the safety of its guests.

Our maid service was very good. Our housekeeper was very nice and friendly. When she found out we were moving into her unit, she came right away to help us. It was the only help that we had in relocating. There are no luggage carts since every unit has some kind of steps. You are on your own to get your luggage and things to your unit. My 69 year old husband had to carry most everything himself.

The sunsets are beautiful from the point and so I will not say that Napili Point Resort is a terrible place to stay, just be advised that not all units are the same and you may get unit A1 or one just like it. Even though you get to choose a unit if you are booking seven days or more, we were told by the manager that that rule didn’t apply for guests receiving any type of discount. Looking at their rate list it is apparent that most everyone is getting a discount even if it’s only the buy 4 nights and get 1 night free.

We met several guests who return year after year and are happy with the resort; however, I brought one woman guest to our unit A1 to show her it's condition and she said “Oh, this is a very tired one”. So it was not my expectations that were higher than the norm, the unit is indeed in need of redecorating.

Room Tip: Avoid Unit A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cleo1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

The units at Napili Point Resort are individually owned and are all furnished differently. We review and require all meet a Minimum Standard.

It is true that we do not guarantee specific units for less than a seven day stay. However we do our very best to fulfill guest requests and do our best toward offering alternatives when the assigned unit does not meet guest expectations.

We are a condominium resort and do not have a porter to help guests with their luggage. During the day and upon request, we have employees who are available to help. There are also hand carts available.

Napili Point is a non-smoking property. There are designated smoking areas. If we are made aware that people are smoking outside of those areas, we normally give a warning first followed by fines for second offenses.

Unit A1 is on the lower level, there are two flights of steps, one with six steps and after a landing there is a second set of seven steps, all with hand rails. Napili Point was built in 1979 but none of the units here have original furniture. For a long time tropical style furniture with lots of colorful prints and lots of rattan and bamboo was popular. More recently, the darker heavier style furniture has become very popular. The current style is back to the 70’s with the herculon fabrics. Most owners who have converted to this style try to add colorful pillows and accents. This unit is located 30 feet from an outdoor shower where guests frequently wash off the sand from the beach. There is a sidewalk which crosses between 9 and 25 feet in front of all our A level units. The owner of A1 does have a lock on three cabinet doors, one above both the broom closet and two above the range. Those cabinets are high and not frequently used. The cabinets themselves are five years old and finished with laminate made to resemble the European style Siematic.

Insects are an ever present problem in the tropics. We maintain a regular pest control service which treats the entire property quarterly. The entire exterior grounds area is sprayed as well as the interiors. Insects still do find their way inside, especially if food is left out or screen doors are not kept closed. When we are made aware there are problems, the pest control company is on call to treat between regularly scheduled visits.

Rod Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This resort is at the west end of Maui...considered by locals as the best part of Maui, and Maui itself is widely considered as the best of Hawaii's 6 habitable/accessible islands.
Napili Point Resort overlooks beautiful Honokeana Cove, and in the cove, there are about 15 large, vegetarian turtles, and about 1000 colorful tropical fish, and a single mini-octopus ( perhaps 1 foot from tentacles to head).Snorkelling is the BEST on Maui...I have tried it all over.
There is a child safe sandy beach around the west end, paddle board and snorkel sets, etc., are rented 50 feet away, and you'll love breakfast or lunch at the Gazebo Restaurant, which is on the ocean front...for about 5 months each winter you get to see whales almost daily from here, and when the surf is up, you can see surfers just 400 feet away.
The resort has two swimming pools for young ( or old) kids, and most Condos have views of 2 other Hawaiian Islands, Molokai and Lanai ( where Bill Gates got married..it is nicknamed the Pineapple Island), and also,most of the Condos have beautiful Pacific Sunsets.We have stayed here 7 or 8 times over the years, this time,we took the Grandkids, the only problem was that they didn't wan to go home.
There are about 6 gas grilles outside in various spots, so you can grill and dine ( tables provided) outside, and a couple of grills in which you can use charcoal.

Room Tip: They have 3 types of condo suites, A. units sleep 4, but are a bit tight, 2 people would be comfy, 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oldwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.2 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
8.7 km away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#5 of 32 in Lahaina
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.4 km away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
0.6 km away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lahaina

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $342 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing